GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => Map Making Support => Topic started by: babj615 on December 30, 2013, 11:07:40 PM

Title: Routable Maps
Post by: babj615 on December 30, 2013, 11:07:40 PM
I have been slowly building several mapsets over the past few months, learning everything by trial and error, with the help and support of a few expert map makers here at GPSFileDepot.

Using GPSMapEdit, I have verified, corrected thousands of irregularities, generated routing graphs, and tested routing graphs on some of my maps. All of my map data is at Level 0, which is set to 24 bit detail.

I then export from GPSMapEdit to *.img file (with *.idx), and use MSTK to load the mapset into BaseCamp/MapSource. ALL the cGPSmapper routing settings are enabled in the map information tab in GPSMapEdit.

I have been able to routinely install/uninstall maps for BaseCamp with MSTK without issue for some time, so I feel I have this figured out.... but:

BaseCamp/MapSource refuse to recognize any routing capabilities in my maps. That is to say, I can not get BaseCamp/MapSource to use trails/roads/etc regardless of routing settings. Sending the map to my GPSr, MapSource allows me to check the 'Send Routing Data' box, so I assume it knows routing data is present, but the resulting mapset on my GPSr also refuses to allow routing along streets/trails/etc.

Do any of our expert map makers know how/where the routing information is stored/enabled? I know a couple map makers here have routable maps available, so I assume they may have overcome this issue already.

Yes, I do have the routable version of cGPSmapper. In fact, looking around the cGPSmapper website for potential answers, I found the SendMap20 application provided there, and installed it for testing purposes.

The reason I use MSTK to install my map into BC/MS is twofold: 1> To review map content and accuracy, and 2> MSTK allows me to apply my custom TYP to the map during installation. When everything looks good in BC, I then send the mapset to my GPSr, where I also review for content and accuracy on the device.

Combining my GPSMapEdit/cGPSmapper *.img file with the desired TYP file in SendMap20, I can produce a new *.img file for use with the GPSr. This map, when loaded onto my Garmin GPSr, ALLOWS ROUTING along the streets/trails/etc in my map. I even went so far as to remove all other maps from my GPSr to ensure the routing was indeed occurring based on the data in my mapset.

So, is MSTK not capable of sending routing information along when present?

I adjusted the mapset on my GPSr to be available in BaseCamp, enabled it in BaseCamp (read directly from the connected GPSr), and BaseCamp still refuses to allow routing, while the GPSr can and does use the routing information in the mapset.

I have not yet constructed a full BaseCamp installer for my mapset, and perhaps this is the only way to get routing data into BC/MS? Or maybe I am just missing something somewhere else along the way.
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: Seldom on December 31, 2013, 08:06:52 AM
I just do everything by the cgpsmapper manual, and I don't have any problems.  If you examine a routable MP file in a text editor, you'll see that routing data is stored with each routable object.  I've no clue how the compiler deals with it, however.

I use MapSetToolKit to put maps int BaseCamp with no problems.  I compile Cpreviews from batch files developed from the cgpsmapper manual, rather than letting MapSetToolKit or GPSmapEdit make those calls.  They probably work just fine, but batch files are easier to debug.
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: Red90 on December 31, 2013, 10:04:46 AM
Is the map transparent?  If so, they will only route on the GPS.
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: babj615 on December 31, 2013, 10:09:44 AM
Is the map transparent?  If so, they will only route on the GPS.

Yes, it is! Can you please elaborate further on this behavior? How did you learn about this?
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: Red90 on December 31, 2013, 10:49:10 AM
I'm pretty sure this is mentioned in the cGPSmapper manual somewhere.
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: Horse Rider on December 31, 2013, 11:05:14 AM
When you install your map with MapSetoolkit, in the transparency box leave it as default and not "yes".  All my transparent maps will route in Mapsource/Basecamp.
Title: Re: Routable Maps
Post by: babj615 on January 01, 2014, 12:00:57 AM
Thank you, Red90, I am going to read the manual again tomorrow :)

Horse Rider, I will try that with my next install... I have been checking that box 'Just to be sure' :)