GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: shec6135 on February 05, 2011, 06:32:12 PM

Title: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 05, 2011, 06:32:12 PM
as the title states i'm new here. i was refered by a guy from another forum i belong to called archerytalk. this place is really neat, with a lot to learn! i hope i can soak it all up and not ask too many of the stupid questions i'm sure you guys hear all the time! thanks for having me -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: MichaelJ07 on February 06, 2011, 07:27:03 AM
Shaun, you'll never catch me.  I hold the record for stupid questions.   :)

Great place here and the folks here are the best on the Internet.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 07, 2011, 02:14:37 AM
hey michael, i was just wondering about the different maps. i downloaded the ohio map, and am in the process of downloading ohio and all the states around me. will this new map overwrite or take the place of my old map? and what if this whole new map of like 5 different states doesn't fit on my 60csx? will i be able to select certain portions to include more detail of those areas? thanks for the help in advance ??? -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: maps4gps on February 07, 2011, 06:20:32 AM
The 60csx only recognizes one gmapsupp.img file.  Each time the software sends a gmapsupp.img file to the GPSr it will overwright any existing gmapsupp.img file.  You open one mapset in MapSource/BaseCamp; select the quads you want (or all) - they will be listed in the windon on the left with the total number of quads/segments and file size; open any additional mapsets and select from them; finally send to the GPSr as a single gmapsupp.img file.  You can not modify (add/delete quads) a gmapsupp.img file once it is created.

See: http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 08, 2011, 10:40:55 PM
so i have the ohio map, and i have the NE usu part 3 map that includes a couple other states but more importantly shows state gameland borders. so are you saying i should delete the simple ohio map? it say i need a 25 or 8 digit unlock code when i go to utilities, then to manage map product. thanks for the help in advance -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: maps4gps on February 09, 2011, 05:36:26 AM
Neither mapset is locked so you should not be getting that message.
You can show/hide individual mapsets on the GPSr as needed.
Which are better for your purposes is your decision. 
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 09, 2011, 11:57:38 AM
do they save onto anyone elses computer as exe files? and does it matter that i hit browse and put them in a programs folder? just trying to trouble shoot here...
Title: "NE USA part 3"
Post by: shec6135 on February 09, 2011, 12:05:05 PM
two members of your site told me that they were able to download "NE USA part 3" onto their gps devices, and one of the guys has the same garminmap 60csx that i have.

 this map shows ohio with parts of 3 other states as well, topo, cities, rivers, lakes, ponds, AND state owned land shaded in green.one of you has to know something about how to do this, something i'm forgetting... ???
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: maps4gps on February 09, 2011, 12:46:44 PM
It is best to use the uninstall program which came with the mapset as each one is designed to uninstall the mapset it was packaged with.

Each mapset needs to be installed on each computer.  The installer makes changes to the computer's register so MapSource/BaseCamp knows the mapset exists, where it is located, and what the necessary index files are named.  You can change the default location when you install the mapset using the installer (the .exe file you downloaded); however, once installed you would need to manually change the appropriate entries in the computer's registry - doing so is NOT recommended for the average computer user as making a mistake could render the computer unusable.
Title: "NE USA part 3"
Post by: maps4gps on February 09, 2011, 12:57:08 PM
I have not download it.  I would guess the State owned land came from the Census TIGER AreaLandmark files.   TIGER is designed to assist census takers in locating where they are and was never intended to be all inclusive.  It is based on counties so the detail and extent of can varry from county to county. 

From your previous posts in this thread I am not sure what the issue/question is.
Title: "NE USA part 3"
Post by: shec6135 on February 09, 2011, 04:13:55 PM
the question was how do i export the maps i already had on mapsource to my garminmap60csx?

 i figured it out... after 8 hrs of talking on the forums, deleting and re-installing all the programs, and downloading the trial version of global mapper(which would make anyone happy to pay $250+ and be done with it after reading all the work involved in creating a map like the NE USA part 3), then going to bed at 7 am and thinking about it overnight i woke up and got back to it.(i'm currently layed off)

all i was missing was to hit the yellow triangle looking thing at the top of the screen on mapsource to turn my cursor into a selector to select the quadrants of my topo map i wanted to eport onto my 60csx. once i figured this simple step out, it took me only 3 minutes to download what had been taking me hours! hope this helps future newbies like me, i would have LOVED to had been told this... -shaun
Title: "NE USA part 3"
Post by: shec6135 on February 09, 2011, 04:16:00 PM
by the way (the NE USA part 3) has public land shaded so you don't end up off course and on someone's private land.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: maps4gps on February 10, 2011, 07:20:38 AM
Glade to hear you got it working.  Sorry we (I) did not realize the transfer issue was quad/segment selection related.  A few of the map authors, myself included, have admitted to having problems with MapSource the first time we used it.  Unfortunately Garmin uses the somewhat unusual method of using Window's registry entries to inform MapSource/Basecamp where the data files are located and provides little to no information on how to use the software (besides occasionally changing the program's screen looks).

List price on GlobalMapper is currently $350.  It is usefull in reading source data in various formats and outputting it in .mp format which the cgpsmapper program process to Garmin's .img format which the Garmin GPSr units use.  It is NOT able to read/display the .img files, nor is it used to combine nor send mapset data to the GPSr.

Some authors have used the GPSmapedit program to create small sized mapset(s). 

Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 10, 2011, 09:29:13 PM
so i found a corner marker to my property then used a plot map and gps to make a track that goes around the perimiter of my property, i was wondering if there was a way i could connect these waypoints with lines and add them to my map that way i wouldn't have to go to the tracks menu to view this. any advice besides buying $350 software or is it un-doable? thanks in advance -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: Boyd on February 11, 2011, 03:29:34 AM
How about $20 software? http://www.gpx2img.com/
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: maps4gps on February 11, 2011, 06:15:53 AM
I think previous posts have mentioned using GPSMapEdit to convert track points into line features; then into an overlay/transparent mapset which works with any other mapset(s) they have on their GPSr.  jbensmen should be able to provide more details as he converts tracks to lines for his 'my trails' mapset. 
FYI - consider any/every position your GPS gives to be accurate to +-20 feet, maybe less, maybe more.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 11, 2011, 05:23:32 PM
thanks boyd for the good info!
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 11, 2011, 05:26:00 PM
thanks maps4gps for the info as well. i had my WAAS satelite capabilty turned off so i know it's within 10/14ft+/-
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: jbensman on February 11, 2011, 09:07:35 PM
Even with WAAS on, you cannot know you are within 10/14 feet.  You could be-but GPS are not that accurate all the time. 
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 12, 2011, 02:03:45 AM
"According to the FAA's web site, testing of the WAAS in september 2002 confirmed an accuracy performance of 1-2 meters horizontal and 2-3 meters vertical throughout the majority of the continental United States and portions of Alaska"

this is right out of the manual that came with my gps. now i live in ohio (the southern part) but even then the hills around here are no taller than 900 ft above sea level, there are lots of satelites to be picked up and no hills capable of throwing off the gps at a measley 900 ft. now i can agree that it's not going to be EXACT, but do you really think that in 9 years they've gotten less acurate at what they do?lol i mean common, don't we all strive to get worse and worse at what we do, if this was so i think we would have reverted back to being neandrathals a lot quicker already.

i don't hunt right on the property lines for obvious reasons so 2-3 meters is certainly accurate enough for me.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: jbensman on February 12, 2011, 08:05:30 AM
So did you mean to say with WAAS on? YOu said it was that accurate with it off.

While most of the time WAAS is real good, your GPS can be off and you not know it.

You also need to remember accuracy of your GPS is not the only accuracy issue.  The source of the boundary can be off.  Some of the source data can be survey grade accuracy and some can be a good guess or a trace from a paper map.  For my landownership maps, amny times I combine boundaires from different sources and when they share boundaries, they rarely match perfectly.

Then Garmin maps have resolution issues.  They don't draw the boundaries at the exact location provided by the source file.  There is a 24K gride at the most accurate zoom level.  So the boundary is drawn along the grid not its actual location.  So this also introduces accuracy issues. 

With 3 sources of accuracy issues, I would say stay at least 50 feet from where the bounday shows unless there is something on the ground showing the actual bounday (which could also be off)
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: Boyd on February 12, 2011, 11:37:18 AM
I wrote about the limits of Garmin's map format here: http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,1335.0.html

Not much of an issue to the intended uses of a consumer unit, but definitely a problem if you are trying to "survey" something. 32 bit coordinates just aren't accurate enough for that.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 12, 2011, 02:34:19 PM
i agree with what your saying jben but i found a corner stake where my neighbor had his property surveyed and used the measure distance tool to go all the way around my property. it's not exactly square but it's self checking when you get back to the start point with all the measurments from the plot map working out and in between waypoints leads you right along some fence rows (within 5 ft) you can average in the cordinate multiple times for that corner stake as well, but like i said before it is good for you to point these things out to someone who doesn't know what they're doing, i GOT THIS...lol thanks anyways. -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 12, 2011, 02:45:47 PM
boyd,
surveys are acurate to the fraction of a foot. i'm a deer hunter, i don't need all that... i did base my starting point off a corner marker, but as long as i know within a couple meters like i said i'm a bowhunter, and deer run on average 50-100 yards after the shot so i'm not going to be hunting the property line. but my route did lead me within 1 meter in places of fence lines as well, i am TICKLED PINK with my new gps!lol thank you guys for your concern. -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: jbensman on February 13, 2011, 08:56:44 AM
While what you did is probably sufficiently accurate, if have a survey point, you could use waypoint averaging over multiple days to get a real good reading of its location.  (Maybe there is a way to get a lat and long from the survey which would be even better.)  If you knew the distance and direction of your corners from the marker, you could project waypoints to the corner and then draw a line connecting the waypoints.

A friend of mine wanted her property marked on her GPS.  The plat map showed where the boundaried were in relation to the section lines.  So I drew the boundary on the USGS map based on the section lines in ExpertGPS.  We found multiple old fence lines within about 50 feet of where the GPS was showing the boundary.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 13, 2011, 08:29:14 PM
jben, you found and old fence (that was the actual border) and the gps was showing 50 ft off of that? i'm sure trees and things can move gradually if on a steap enough hillside, coupled with the fact that fencelines are never really that accurate (old ones anyways). i did find a stake on one of the back corners that was 15-20ft off of what my gps was telling me was the actual corner. so since it benefits me i think i'll take that neighbors word for it!lol this back corner of our propert i have never hunted b/c this guy is a lunatic and i wasn't sure about the property line back there, i never would have found this stake if it wasn't for me getting a new gps! i have never been so pleased. i can see why you guys take so much enjoyment in this hobbie, why are there only like 600 memebers here? i don't understand it, is it some kind of secret?lol thanks again -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 13, 2011, 08:47:56 PM
i was also wondering about downloading more of the maps from mapsource onto my 60csx. if i add quadrants from the same map that i took specific quadrants from the last time, will it erase my waypoints, or is there anything i should know before hand? i wasn't sure how many states my 8gb micro sdhc card would hold so i only did a portion on southern ohio (the parts with state game land), would an 8 gb card hold all of OH, PA, and WV as well? the map is the N.E. USA part 3 map. thanks in advance -shaun
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: Boyd on February 14, 2011, 06:28:14 AM
Waypoints, tracks, routes and maps are all separate kinds of data. Changing the map will not affect them as long as you only check the map option in the send dialog box. But sending a new map will replace any existing one on your GPS.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: shec6135 on February 14, 2011, 07:49:27 PM
thanks boyd! ;)
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: foresterscott01 on February 15, 2011, 06:33:08 AM
A note on accuracy-  I am a Forester/Land Surveyor and have had the opportunity to check the accuracy of my Oregon 550 compared to an $8000 Javad Triumph unit.  With one 2 minute sample on the Oregon I was within 6' of the Opus-corrected State Plane point of the Javad.  On another occasion (and a different point) I was within 12'.  Accuracy changes with the satellite constellation (and number of samples) but I thought these results were fairly impressive for a hand-held unit.  The Oregon has an excellent averaging routine and allows returning to point at a later time to add samples to a waypoint average. 

Scott
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: Seldom on February 15, 2011, 07:55:17 AM
foresterscott01's observations are really useful.  It would be nice if the site had somewhere to keep observations about accuracy and hardware besides buried in a multi-topic thread.
Title: Re: new here from ohio!
Post by: VerdeVal on February 17, 2011, 05:45:17 AM
Great idea seldom_sn!  Would be extremely helpful to us newbies trying to absorb all this new and complicated knowledge!