GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => Map Making Support => Topic started by: savage on January 09, 2009, 03:58:45 PM

Title: Vermont gnis file
Post by: savage on January 09, 2009, 03:58:45 PM
I build the GNIS file for Vermont with the topo_process but when I try to load the gnis.shp file into GM I get:

Shape file does not contain projection information. Please select the projection/datum ...

Any idea?


Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: -Oz- on January 09, 2009, 11:46:38 PM
this is the correct .prj file.

I'll have to see why you didn't get one.
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: -Oz- on January 09, 2009, 11:49:24 PM
Just put that file in the same folder as the rest and you won't get that anymore (although maybe in GPSMapEdit you will in which case its WGS 1984 and geographic coordinates.
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: savage on January 10, 2009, 03:50:52 AM
That did not help
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: -Oz- on January 10, 2009, 12:13:24 PM
what files do you have gnis.shp, gnis.dbf, gnis.shx and gnis.prj?
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: savage on January 10, 2009, 02:38:05 PM
In my gnis folder I end up with the .shp, .dbf, and .shx files

Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: -Oz- on January 10, 2009, 10:04:09 PM
Did you add the .prj file I attached to that folder; if so that should have stopped that message.

I am trying to simulate by:
Selecting Oregon
Clicking "All at Once" in topo process. and i get gnis.shp, gnis.prj, gnis.dbf and gnis.shx

So I can't figure out whats up since I think the oge2oge (or similar name) program makes it.
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: savage on January 11, 2009, 04:48:29 AM
Do you mean the gnis.prj file must be added 'by hand' to the GNI folder that I am building? I did not do that.
Title: Re: Vermont gnis file
Post by: -Oz- on January 12, 2009, 06:25:42 PM
Do you mean the gnis.prj file must be added 'by hand' to the GNI folder that I am building? I did not do that.
yea, by hand.  Not sure why it didn't build one by that'll fix it.