GPSFileDepot.com

Using GPX files (or other files for that matter....) on Legend HCx

Started by erdejo, January 20, 2010, 11:32:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

erdejo

Hello to all,

I am a newbie to the "Handheld GPS receiver scene", but have been lurking here for a while.... I do have a Garmin Nuvi 765T, but that is still different from the Legend HCx.  ;D

After searching the site here for a while I have not been able to find the answer to my problem.... So, I decided to take the plunge and post it here.
I recently purchased a Garmin Etrex Legend HCx and have a 4Gb card with it. I downloaded all the USA 24k TOPO maps and installed as much of those as I could before I ran out of space (either on amount of segments or space on card, can't remember of the top of my head).

I also found a GPX file that I downloaded that has a couple of waypoints, tracks and routes in the the Mobile Bay area (where I live....). Right after I installed the maps to my card using MapSource, I also used it to install the content of that GPX file to my card.
The problem is that when I put my card in the Legend and start it up, it does seem to show the TOPO maps (at least all the segments are checked in the map info section...) but I can't seem to make the points, tracks or routes show up at all?!?!?
I have tried to zoom into the area of the map where they are supposed to be located but when I do "Find" --> "Waypoints" then it still doesn't show anything in that window. And on the map I also don't (seem to) see any waypoints.....

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Is it just the fact that one can not load the GPX files or its contents (from MapSource) onto the memory card? And do I need to connect the Garmin to my computer, then find the unit and then upload the GPX or points, etc. directly to the unit?