GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Stuck on first step!

Started by P_D, December 02, 2008, 12:30:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

P_D

I'm a complete newb trying to make topos of a few places in Texas using Oz's tutorial, but I can't get the DEM to download.

I've downloaded dem2topo and the excel sheet.  I copied the DEM link to my Explorer's address bar.  I got 4 ArcGrid quads, I didn't see any GeoTiff download, so I clicked Modify Data Request and changed the data format to GeoTiff and saved the changes.  I got one download in a GeoTiff format that is 232mb.  I click download and get a pop-up that says:

Current order status

Extracting data...

Please wait for the data to be returned.

After a couple of minutes, the window changes to:

The data extraction has completed.

If an error occurs during download, click here to retrieve the download bundle.
After one hour, the download bundle will be automatically deleted from our server.

I also get an information bar that tells me that explorer has blocked this site from downloading, click for more info.  I click on the bar, select "download"

The window changes back to:

Current order status

Extracting data...

Please wait for the data to be returned

And that's where I get stuck.  My data is never returned.  I've got Vista on my laptop.  I'm currently running default security settings, but I've tried adding the extract.cr.usgs site to my trusted sites and resetting the security to low.  I'm not too computer savvy, as y'all have already guessed, but I'm thinking this can be solved by changing a security setting on Explorer.

Can anyone  help? 

PD

-Oz-

I would suggest downloading firefox. http://www.getfirefox.com