Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

No map data available - IbycusUSA

Started by bluferbl, December 16, 2009, 11:58:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluferbl

Hello all!

Newbie here with a Garmin nuvi 1310.

I downloaded IbycusUSA20.exe and ibycususa_2.01_update.exe. I was able to see the USA map in Mapsource and using the tutorial here I was able to send the map to an SD card.

When I start my Garmin, I see ibycususa listed with a NOT FOR SALE message. Also, when I go into the settings section I can select the ibycususa map (the Garmin was supplied with Ireland and UK maps).

Unfortunately, having selected ibycususa as the map to use, when I try to enter an address and change the country from Ireland to United States, the only option starting with U is United Kingdom.

I'm travelling to California next week and I was really hoping to be able to use the Garmin over there.

Any ideas why it's not using the map...I'll be totally happy if it turns out I'm a spaz!

Cheers,

David

Boyd

Try zooming WAY out until you see North America. With the ibycus maps enabled, you should start to see things after you zoom way back in. Do you mean a Nuvi 1310? If so, before you do the steps listed above, first press Menu > Tools > Settings > System > GPS Simulator > On. This will turn off the GPS receiver.

Now make sure that ibycus is enabled and zoom way in on a US location as described above. You should see streets now. If you like, tap the Set Loc. button and that will make your Nuvi behave as though you actually are located at this place. You could also save some favorites for places of interest while you're at it, and that will make it easier next time.

However, realize that Ibycus maps are not capable of routing (can't provide directions for navigating) and they don't have address data so you can't search for things. You can only display the map and your position on the screen.

bluferbl

Fair play, that worked a treat...I can see why you're a Hero Member!