GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Do I need City Navigator for my 76csx

Started by easygoing, December 25, 2009, 02:15:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

easygoing

I am somewhat new to GPS, but long long time orienteering, so topo and compass (adult leader BSA, always outdoor woods and water).  I do have a Garmin 12 XL, mostly for my fish finder and fishing.

But coveting a 76CSX for a long time, I got one today! Thanks family.

I am loaded with Macs, so I went downloaded MapInstaller and downloaded the NC topo, much thanks to maps4gps and GPSFileDepot. Works great on the 76csx, but not sure 100% working on the Mac, what is MapManger supposed to do? I get no gui to pop up, just the finder window.  I downloaded the Beta, I mean it has been a year since the first release...  Did I miss the docs??

But I have to ask why should I get City Navigator vs downloading Ibycus USA??

Please advise before I go plunking down $$$.  I will most likely buy lake mapping and be glad to take advice on that.

This is a wonderful site, tip of my hat to y'all. 

I am thinking geocashing might be fun just to have places to hiking to.

maps4gps

The Ibycus USA map used 2007 Census data.  My recent US Planimetric - xxxxx mapsets use 2009 Census for the roads/streets and hydro (when NC topo was created, 2008 was the latest data). The full mapset is about 2.5 times the Ibycus size as it includes info from other 'standard' sources; however it is packaged in 200+-Mb regional mapsets.  None of these mapsets are routable, so if you need routing and the absolute latest street info then CN would probably be best.

I mentioned it to Oz earlier in the year; isn't it time to change 'based on the most recent census data' to 'based on 2007 Census data' in the Ibycus USA description.  It is somewhat misleading to potential uses and 'detracts' from the efforts of other mapauthors who are keeping up with the latest data.