Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Vista deleting maps  (Read 3317 times)

crashtestdummy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Vista deleting maps
« on: December 04, 2009, 05:43:38 PM »
I was going to load a map on my Vista using Mapsource and the Utah topo's. Mapsource said that my preloaded maps on my Vista would be deleted. Does it delete all of them, or just the map area I'm trying to load.

Also, how big of an area can I fit on my 24MB of memory? Do I need to leave some empty for tracks and waypoints?

Thanks for any help. This Vista is new to me and although I downloaded a lot of tracks from my old 12XL, I never uploaded much to it. Any tips would be appreciated.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3906
  • Karma: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Vista deleting maps
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 05:56:08 PM »
Any maps (aside from the basemap which can't be erased) currently on your GPS will be deleted when you load a new mapset. A mapset can include several different areas or even different maps, but they are all grouped together in storage.

24MB of internal memory is pretty limiting. I used to have a Legend C with 24MB and could only load a few counties here in New Jersey. Exactly how much you can load depends on the map and how it was made. In mapsource, select some areas of interest. Click on the Map tab on the left and look at the bottom of the page. It will tell you how much space is needed. Just watch that number as you select more areas and stop when it approaches the limit.

If you try to transfer too much, it will give you an error message and you can try again with less segments.

crashtestdummy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Vista deleting maps
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2009, 07:07:47 PM »
The only maps I have on the unit are the ones that came installed on it. I believe it is the Americas Base Map set.

crashtestdummy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Vista deleting maps
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2009, 07:29:06 PM »
Thanks, I guess I will try loading some maps. Is the warning that I got a standard warning that is always there?

crashtestdummy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Vista deleting maps
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2009, 08:09:09 PM »
Quote
What version of MapSource are you using?

It is 6.15.7. I just downloaded it and installed it today.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 06:30:25 PM by Indrid Cold »

crashtestdummy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Vista deleting maps
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2009, 06:12:52 AM »
It took me a minute to figure out S & G. No maps show up as being loaded. I loaded the map I needed and I still got the same warning window. I will try it out in a few hours.

Thanks