Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: GPSMapEdit Levels  (Read 3234 times)

iGPS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
GPSMapEdit Levels
« on: November 14, 2009, 09:27:38 AM »
Hello folks,

   I've downloaded some 24K topos for my Garmin Astro and am making some transparent trails.  Everything looks great on my GPS, the only thing left to do is to get the levels right so that it looks like a regular trail.  Right now the trail shows up at any zoom level on the GPS.  Is there a tutorial on how to set this or can someone help me with the settings?  Right now I have the Level 0 and Level 1 set by default when I click the 'Insert Before' button.  Thanks.

eaparks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: GPSMapEdit Levels
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 10:20:39 AM »
I prefer to have my trails visible in all zoom levels, this makes them a lot easier to find if you are wanting to see them and are several miles or hundreds of miles away from them.  Otherwise they can be hard to locate on the GPS screen.  I use Levels 0 thru 4 and of course level 4 is empty.  All trails are put in levels 0 thru 3.  When  you click the "Insert Before" button you always need to be highlighting the last level in the column and obviously this changes everytime you add another level.

iGPS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: GPSMapEdit Levels
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2009, 11:16:40 AM »
Thanks eaparks, that is a better way.  How do you set a level to empty though?

     

eaparks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: GPSMapEdit Levels
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2009, 12:45:37 PM »
You can't set it to empty, you just don't put anything (point/waypoint or polyline/track) in the last level regardless of how many levels you create.  If the last level has anything in it the map won't work properly.

iGPS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: GPSMapEdit Levels
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2009, 01:28:00 PM »
I see now.  Every thing is looking and working great.  Thanks.