GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Help with Mapsource and topo

Started by Cato, August 16, 2009, 02:31:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cato

I am totally new to GPS.  I have been given a Garmin Oregon 400t.

I downloaded mapsource, and also the Mississippi topo provided on this site.  I am trying to view it in Mapsource, and transfer it to my GPS.  The files for the topo are in a folder on my drive (I can see them with explorer) but I cannot get them to open in Mapsource.

I know this is a rookie question, but can somebody tell me what to do please.

Thank you.

Cato

I realize now that all I have is image files.  I have gone through the FAQs and found the one on how to image files with MapSetToolkit.  However, when I try to use it, it tells me that there is a "Family ID", and will not let me complete the install of the files to Mapsource.

Can somebody tell me what to do?

Thank You

Cato

Everything I did was with a hot link from this site.  I went to the custom maps section, found Mississippi, opened it, and clicked on the "download Windows Verstion".  It put an exe file on my desktop.  I clicked on it, and it installed the image files in a folder.

I then saw the button that says "need mapsource?".  I did the same thing there.  It also put an exe file on my desktop from which I installed.

I ultimately realized that all I had was img files in my folder.  I went to the Tutorials for "how to lad img files into mapsource with mapsettoolkit.

I used the link under the section that says "getting the necessary software", and downloaded MapSetToolkit.   That offered 2 links to download the free version from; I chose the first one.