GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Garmin TOPO US 100K errors in trail location

Started by Hiker02093, October 28, 2016, 07:52:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hiker02093

I'm new to using a land based GPS, I'm a converted sailor and have used Garmin marine GPS units and they have always been really good.
However, I recently purchased an eTrex30 with TOPO 100K. While getting used to the unit and the Base Camp software I noticed that the representation of a trail(Cascade Link,Mount Monadnock) was off quite a bit. I wrote Garmin support, questioning as to why and if that view was unique to Base Camp or would I see the same on the trail. They basically said that's what I get and suggested buying TOPO US 24K. I'm not confident that it will be more accurate.
Can some more experienced hikers please weigh in?

Boyd

Are you familiar with the old paper USGS 1:100,000 maps? They were also wildly inaccurate. They were handy because they covered a large area, but the detail and accuracy was nowhere near the old paper 1:24,000 maps. It would take sixteen 24k maps to cover the same area as one 100k map in fact.

Digital maps can't really be compared to paper, but I think Garmin makes the assumption that users will understand that a 100k map isn't intended to be terribly accurate. Another way to compare this is that the Garmin 100k map of the entire US is about 3gb. However each of their 24k topo maps (which only cover a few states) is about that same size.

I have owned a few different versions of the Garmin 100k maps over the years (they used to call it "Topo US" before they introduced the 24k map series. It was not at all unusual to find errors of hundreds of feet in the location of roads. I realize you're new to this, but the inaccuracies of the Garmin 100k maps are well known. My understanding is that they have actually improved recently as Garmin switched to HERE (formerly called Navteq) as a source of road data.