GPSFileDepot.com

Garmin Oregon 600-Error Occured while reading a file

Started by EdfromHerndon2013, September 01, 2013, 05:30:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EdfromHerndon2013

Just got a Garmin Oregon 600 and have easily downloaded files from GPS file depot. I downloaded a friend's GPX via everytrail. However, when I open Base camp and have the GPS connected, I get the following:

Problem connecting with the Oregon 600. An error occurred while reading the following files Garmin/GPX/SNP-Alex.GPX..

I am a super newbie and need help.

I am running 64 bit Windows 7. Do I need some kind of installer?

Ed

Seldom

Don't have an OR600, but my nuvi 1490 gives me those errors all the time with BaseCamp.  I suspect it's a firmware problem that's never been addressed.  Manually move the file from your 600.  If it's something you don't want, delete it.  If it's something you want to keep try opening it using MapSource, and then re-saving it.  MapSource is more forgiving.  MapSource should install if you have BaseCamp already installed.  See this: http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-install-mapsource-if-it-didnt-come-with-your-gps/ if you have any questions.

EdfromHerndon2013

Thanks, ever so much, Seldom I will load Map Source and see if this helps. If not, I will be back.

I am going to Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany this Friday to hike in the Bavarian Alps and hope to use my GPS there. Have found a topo via a friend but Garmin wants $169.90 for the file. Any free sources or moderately priced ones you know of?

Thanks,

Ed

Thanks.

Ed

EdfromHerndon2013

Tried Map Source and the Error Message said this when I tried to load the file: The .GPX file is not a valid source for Map Source.

Any other ideas? Please Help.

Ed

Seldom

No suggestions from me on the bad GPX, but somebody else here might have a suggestion.
For free European Topo check OpenFietsfMap and OpenCycleMap.

Indrid Cold