GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Creating Nautical Charts

Started by DaKine, May 20, 2009, 11:52:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaKine

I am looking to create electronic navigation charts for my Garmin Colorado.  NOAA has freely available raster charts in BSB format and vector electronic navigation charts in the International Hydrography Organization S-57 Standard format.  I am new to creating Garmin GPs files and would like advice on how to convert these files. 

Reading thru the posts, it looks like MOAGU could convert the raster charts.  Is that true?  Are there any programs that will convert the IHO S-57 Standard format?

trailman

I'll second that request. I'm been trying mightily to figure out a way to do this. anyone know for sure if MOAGU will do it?

leszekp

As the author of Moagu, I might be able to answer some of these questions :).

1. Standard Moagu maps won't work on an Oregon. But what Moagu does have is a GUI front-end to the freeware raster-to-vector converter BMaP2MP. Check the Moagu website (http://moagu.com) for a sample Nantucket marine navigation map created using this converter that you can install on MapSource, and upload to just about any Garmin GPS. The download link for this file is on the "Compatible Garmin Units" page, along with a link to the BMaP2MP program that's needed by Moagu. Read the Moagu help file for info on where to install the BMaP2MP program, and how to create such a map using Moagu.

2. BSB maps have to be converted to GeoTiffs in either UTM or Plate Carree (lat/long) projection, or to a Tiff file with Plate Carree lat/long worldfile, to be usable by the Moagu BMaP2MP GUI. Luckily, there's a free converter available from NOAA that can do the latter:

http://freegeographytools.com/2008/reproject-noaa-bsb-raster-navigation-charts-and-export-them-in-tiff-format