GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Newbie, that needs help

Started by Naytoe, July 22, 2012, 05:12:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Naytoe

Hi, I'm currently new to mapping and map editing and pretty much need a lot of help. I was hoping someone might be able to give me an idea of what to do and how I can get a better understanding of all this.

I am currently trying to get a map of Samoa, for the company I work for, so that I can place GPS coordinates onto the map, giving me a display of area's that we will be working on. So far I have downloaded the software 'GPS MapEdit' but have no idea on how to get a map into this program. If I have no map then I have no way of placing the coordinates.

So my question's are:
Am I using the right program?
If so where can I find a map file to place into it?

Thank you for your time and am looking forward to any replies on this matter

Boyd

Are you trying to make a map that you can use on a gps device in the field, or do you just want a map to use on a computer? If you want to use the map on a gps device, what make and model? Different manufacturers have different map formats. This site is centered on making maps for Garmin GPS devices.

Naytoe

Oh sorry forgot to elaborate, I already have a GPS device from Garmin 'GPSMAP 62s' which my company used to get coordinates on the island. I was just wondering how to transfer these coordinates onto a map on the computer. The problem is I can't get a map to put the coordinates onto. Are you suggesting that I get a map that can be put onto the GPS device first? before using the 'GPS MapEdit' software on my computer?

Indrid Cold

Sounds like google earth will do what you are looking for

SmugWimp

This is if you need to get maps onto your GPS. If you just want to transpose coordinates onto your computer, Ingrid may have suggested the next logical step.

Birds eye view:

1) Get Data for your area (USGS, etcetera)