Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595  (Read 17941 times)

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« on: May 29, 2012, 04:37:48 PM »
I tried loading my custom maps onto a Nuvi 2595 today and they are shown in the map directory and can be toggled on/off but do not display. I toggled tried with the citynavigator maps toggled on and off to see if it was drawing on top but it didn't help.

I tried installing from mapsource into /Maps and then tried renaming to custom.img. Then saved in the hidden /system folder as gmapsupp.img and renamed to custom.img. I also pulled the micro sd from a different nuvi that my maps were installed on and still it would only show the name.

I downloaded and loaded a transparent topo map from this site and it actually showed up. Any idea what could be happening to keep my maps from showing up? They have worked on every other device I have loaded them to.

I am using a custom typ with my maps and have them loaded into mapsource to install from if that makes any difference.

Thanks

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 04:56:53 PM »
I've been having problems with my vector maps on my nuvi 1490.  Did your maps look like this?

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2012, 05:32:54 PM »
The DEMs aren't overriding my maps. When I turn off the city navigator the basemap is all that shows. Maybe it is drawing as a priority over my maps?

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3816
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2012, 05:42:02 PM »
It's entirely possible that you aren't doing anything wrong. Garmin is messing around with map selection on the new Nuvi models. The new firmware for the 37xx will not allow you to enable another map along with City Navigator. The map selection menu is evidently completely broken on the 2300 series. Maybe that is also happening on the 2505 series? See: https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=27826

However, on the Nuvi series you must make a folder named Map in the root directory and place your .img files there. Any name should work. If you place your .img files in the .System or Garmn directory, they will not work.

I am assuming that you have disabled City Navigator?

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2012, 06:34:56 PM »
I have tried with the city navigator enabled and disabled.

Mapsource is installing my maps into /Map in the root directory by default. Since it wasn't working there I started moving it around and changing the name on it. I seem to figure out more things by trial/error than any other way.

I tried loading the Garmin 24k topos along with city navigator and they cannot both load at the same time as was discussed in the link you posted. BUT when I loaded the topo maps I downloaded from here they will load with the city navigator and work fine. I don't want the topos on this unit this was just a trial that leads me to believe that the my custom maps should display on it.

Since my maps will show in the directory but not draw I think
A- Maybe its related to zoom levels? (I am only using 1 because I haven't taken the time to learn the settings and always get errors when I try to change them)
B- somehow related to draw priority?
C- related to my custom typ file? I did not use unique identifiers when I made my labels but it has worked so far.

I could be way off. I'm just trying to trouble shoot and throw some ideas around with you guys that really know this stuff.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 06:37:59 PM by bigbair »

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2012, 07:00:56 PM »
Could you post a screenshot, or aren't you getting anything at all?

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2012, 05:42:09 AM »
I started to reply that I am getting nothing at all but that isn't entirely accurate. I can see the name of my custom map and select it. A couple pictures are worth thousands of words-

Here are some screen shots of the same location at 500' zoom
1 with basemap (to show that the map displaying with the topos is the city navigator and not the basemap)
1 with City Navigator- 2012.20
1 with custom 24k Topo and 2012.20 City Navigator
1 Showing selection page and all maps selected

Also a screenshot from a Nuvi 200. Same location, same scale, same topo and same custom map, different City Navigator- 2012.10


bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2012, 05:52:38 AM »
Specs-

Model: Nuvi 2595
Hardware Version: Nuvi 25x5 C2 i V5 8GB 128MB
Unit Id: xxxxxxxxxx
Software Version 3.70
Audio Version: 2.90
Voice Command: 2.10
Text Version: 3.70
GPS Firmware 2.89
Bluetooth Firmware: 5.03 A15

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2012, 07:07:42 AM »
Looks like you downloaded a transparent topo from here.  That will draw on top of any drawpriority.  If you are concerned about draw priority, compile the map as Transparent, just for a test.  If it shows up on the nuvi then, you'll know to bump up your draw priority.  Or is your map transparent already?

Do the maps show correctly in MapSource or BaseCamp?  I've never tried a map with only one (or 2?) zoom levels but I'm pretty sure that it should be really crowded and messy when viewed from further out.  You'd see too much detail rather than not enough.

Does the screenshot of the nuvi200 show your custom map correctly?  If so, it sounds like an issue with your other nuvi.

« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 07:25:01 AM by Seldom »

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3816
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2012, 07:37:47 AM »
You pretty much lost me with those screenshots. Is "Kevin Property" the map you're concerned with? And does it just consist of the red outline that can bee seen on the Nuvi 200?

Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time? Does the Keven Property map show if you disable all the other maps? What is the mc73_wv map? Is it also something you made? What is the draw priority of that map? If you are using two maps with the same draw priorities at the same time, that might cause inconsistent behavior on different models.

You can use gmaptool to view or change draw priorites, so that might help with troubleshooting.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 07:39:46 AM by Boyd »

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2012, 07:42:42 AM »
Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time?
IIRC bigbair is making a map for logging trucks, so contours, routable roads and property lines all are useful.

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2012, 08:30:39 AM »
Lots of questions. I guess that means I have plenty of interest. Thats awesome

"Looks like you downloaded a transparent topo from here."
Correct, the custom topo is "mc73_wv map" one I downloaded from here to test if it would display on the Nuvi 2595. It does. I don't actually want topo lines on this unit. I am using it as a reference to show that the unit is capable of displaying a custom map with the City Navigator, even though it will not show my map.

"Or is your map transparent already?"
My map is transparent already.

"Do the maps show correctly in MapSource or BaseCamp?"
Yes, they show great in MapSource

"I've never tried a map with only one (or 2?) zoom levels but I'm pretty sure that it should be really crowded and messy when viewed from further out.  You'd see too much detail rather than not enough. "
I am using only "Level0" but I guess technically you are always using 2? Assigning zoom levels confuses me. They actually look fine to me though. Probably since I use my units for different purposes than most. I can actually zoom out and spot other properties 100 miles away, scroll to them and zoom in, set a POI and navigate to it. It is great.

"Does the screenshot of the nuvi200 show your custom map correctly?  If so, it sounds like an issue with your other nuvi."

Yes, the Nuvi 200 performs and displays perfectly. It definitely is an issue related to the other Nuvi. That's what I'm hoping to figure out.

"You pretty much lost me with those screenshots. Is "Kevin Property" the map you're concerned with? And does it just consist of the red outline that can bee seen on the Nuvi 200?"
Yes, Kevin Property is the map I am concerned with and it is the red outline seen on the Nuvi 200.

"Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time? Does the Keven Property map show if you disable all the other maps? What is the mc73_wv map? Is it also something you made? What is the draw priority of that map? If you are using two maps with the same draw priorities at the same time, that might cause inconsistent behavior on different models."
In this particular instance they are enabled together to show that custom maps will load and draw concurrent with City Navigator.
No idea about draw priorities. That is when I get lost.

"You can use gmaptool to view or change draw priorites, so that might help with troubleshooting."
I will check this out.

"IIRC bigbair is making a map for logging trucks, so contours, routable roads and property lines all are useful."
Almost correct. Good memory. That is what I did with a couple other Nuvis. This time I am just trying to load property lines so that "official guests" can tour the property and know at all times if they are on the property or not. No need for contours on this one.

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2012, 08:53:22 AM »
Sounds like its a device issue with your 2595, to me.  If your guests can use handhelds, you might want to give them one of those.  AFAIK there's no problem displaying any map from this site on handhelds.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3816
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2012, 09:04:15 AM »
Lots of questions. I guess that means I have plenty of interest. Thats awesome

Honestly, I lost interest in topo maps on the nuvi series a couple years ago.  ;)

bigbair

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2012, 09:13:10 AM »
I just downloaded gmaptool. My draw priority was 25. I changed it to 30 and the map still didn't show up.

Any recommendation on what might be a good setting for it?