Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop  (Read 5008 times)

SLNugget

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« on: April 19, 2012, 09:32:08 PM »
Hi everyone, new guy here.  I have attempted to load Basecamp on my laptop running vista.
I get a message telling me I need to be running XP sp3 or higher and then the installation aborts.  Any suggestions or help appreciated.  BTW great site and forum.

Stan

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 09:52:04 PM »
It sounds a lot like you need to install Windows Service Pack 3 or higher.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3932
  • Karma: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 03:44:30 AM »
:) According to that link...

Quote
The latest service pack for Windows Vista is Service Pack 2 (SP2)

But make sure your version of Vista is up to date. I run Basecamp on Vista with no trouble, and so have others. You might also look at these threads on Garmin's support forum:

https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=17558
https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=26936
« Last Edit: April 20, 2012, 03:47:59 AM by Boyd »

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 05:27:01 AM »
:) According to that link...

Quote
The latest service pack for Windows Vista is Service Pack 2 (SP2)
Yes, I thought I mentioned the "or higher" part, the error mentioned XP SP3 or higher and Vista SP2 would be higher than XPSP3. The error would seem to indicate a service pack update is needed. There isn't any other info to go on from the OP other than that.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3932
  • Karma: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2012, 06:11:01 AM »
Reading posts in Garmin's support forum, there have been several users (myself included) where simply downloading and installing again fixed the problem. Before doing anything else, I would restart my computer, download Basecamp again, and see if that makes a difference.

bandon48

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Basecamp will not load on Vista laptop
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2012, 09:10:01 PM »
I just had this very same problem with Basecamp not loading onto Vista.  I kept getting MSI error: system failure.  I read what others had written here but finally gave up on fixing it and called Dell.  The technician updated my registry and then it loaded just fine.