News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Using gps and maps ATVing

Started by freeagent, March 24, 2012, 07:10:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

freeagent

Hello all,

I am new to ATVing and spend most of my time with friends in NC and traveling to WV.  I need to purchase a gps for an upcoming trip and would like feedback on the garmin ryno vs Montana and how easy it is to upload and use the hatfield and McCoy maps available on this site.  Not very technologically savvy so any help will be useful.  We also want to use which ever device suggested to map our trials in nc.

Thanks!

Boyd

These are completely different units. The Rino series has been around for awhile and the older models have a pushbutton interface while the news have touchscreens. But their main attraction is that they have a FRS/GMRS radio built into them. Do you need the radio? If not, there is no reason to get a Rino.

The Montana has a large screen with much higher resolution (Rino has 38,400 pixels while the Montana has 130,560) and many advanced features not present on the Rino. But it doesn't have a radio.

I have a Montana and it's the nicest Garmin product I've ever owned (and I've owned a LOT of them  :) ). It should work really well on an ATV as well as in your car or hiking.

I haven't used that map, but both models will be compatible with all the Garmin maps on this site.

freeagent

Thanks,  the main reason I was looking ryno was most of the folks we meet up with have them and even if the radio doesn't work, we should be able to see them on the gps screen.  At least that is what the advertisement says.

Since I am completely new to gps, when I upload maps from here do they go to the built in memory?  Have you had any issues with the unit losing what you have uploaded?  Does the trails on the downloaded maps stay in the background even while tracking our current path (breadcrumbs, I think)?

Boyd