Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Nube ?  (Read 3532 times)

dlw1146

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Nube ?
« on: February 29, 2012, 07:52:34 AM »
Hello, I'm Don, new here.
New to this GPS thing. Find it quite interesting. Recently purchased a Garmin eTrex Legend Hcx (installed a micro SD card also) for mapping logging roads and jeep trails near my place. Downloaded a Washington state topo map and Ibycus map to use on MapSource and BaseMap. Getting use to using them on my PC and laptop.

I created smaller maps of only my area for both maps and installed onto the Legend. But, can only find one (the topo map for example). Have to connect Legend to PC and upload the Ibycus map in order to use it.

What am I doing wrong or can there be two different maps on the Legend at the same time?

Thanks,
Don

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 08:53:36 AM »
Garmin's programs (MS and BC) send data to their GPSrs as a gmapsupp.img file.  If one
exists on the GPSr, it is overwritten. 

Garmin has so many units it is getting hard to keep them straight; however, for that unit I
think it only recognizes a gmapsupp.img file.

In MS, select quads/segments from one of the mapsets (they will appear in the window on the left); then open another mapset and select quads/segments (they will be added to the list); then send the combined data to the GPSr.
They will be in one gmapsupp.img file, however, each mapset can be enabled/disabled (hide/show) on the GPSr.


Which Ibycus?   Ibycus USA is a single data source with 2007 data.  It does not have contour lines and data from many of the other sources used by other map authors in their mapsets.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 09:04:14 AM by maps4gps »

dlw1146

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 09:13:27 AM »
 Ibycus USA, sorry.
I'll try your suggestion and post a reply later.
Thanks,
Don

babj615

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: -4
  • The cache is a lie!
    • View Profile
    • Garmin Oregon 6xx Wiki
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 10:01:57 AM »
In WA state, I highly recommend the NorthWest Topo from Switchbacks.com


Garmin GPSMap 60cs, Dakota 20, Colorado 400t, Oregon 300/400t/450/550t/650/650t, Montana 650, Lowrance Endura Sierra, nuvi 3790, iPhone 3G/4/4s
Geocaching ID: Atlas Cached
OpenCaching.com Ambassador

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2012, 10:29:30 AM »
In WA state, I highly recommend the NorthWest Topo from Switchbacks.com

IIRC that has really high quality trail data (hard to come by).

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #5 on: February 29, 2012, 11:01:57 AM »
In WA state, I highly recommend the NorthWest Topo from Switchbacks.com
Moun10Bike is a member here:
http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/byuser/320/

dlw1146

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #6 on: February 29, 2012, 12:18:22 PM »
Okay.. I think.
Did as suggested and all seemed to work.
Headed out to the post office now and give it a try.
Thanks,
Don

dlw1146

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #7 on: February 29, 2012, 07:19:48 PM »
Well, the Legend works well with the changes.
However, I have a big problem.
My new BU-353 does not work with Garmin nroute.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3992
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Nube ?
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2012, 07:05:08 AM »
See the solution I posted in your other thread.