Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Incorrect Map Name  (Read 3133 times)

mikebsr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Incorrect Map Name
« on: February 21, 2012, 10:31:51 AM »
I transfered the free Pennsylvania Topo Map to my garmin 62S and when I went to activate it on my gps I looked and the name that came up on my 62S was,   ( Trenton NJ (ws) Tre )    The map seems to be correct but the name wrong??????

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4042
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Incorrect Map Name
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 11:00:29 AM »
That's just the way it works. The whole map consists of a bunch of smaller "tiles" that each have their own names. The GPS is showing you a portion of the names of those tiles. On my Montana it will show that as well as any name I give to the actual map file, but I don't think the 62 series does that.

babj615

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: -4
  • The cache is a lie!
    • View Profile
    • Garmin Oregon 6xx Wiki
Re: Incorrect Map Name
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2012, 01:01:56 PM »
So, if you use MapSource instead of BaseCamp to send your maps to your GPSr, you have the option of changing the "Displayed Name" of the map on the GPSr.

Like This:

http://imageshack.us/f/823/loadmapsfrommapsourcead.png/
Garmin GPSMap 60cs, Dakota 20, Colorado 400t, Oregon 300/400t/450/550t/650/650t, Montana 650, Lowrance Endura Sierra, nuvi 3790, iPhone 3G/4/4s
Geocaching ID: Atlas Cached
OpenCaching.com Ambassador

mikebsr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Incorrect Map Name
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2012, 08:07:24 AM »
The name of the map shown on MapSource screen was correct before and after the copy but the name that was shown on the GPS was incorrect after the copy.    :o   Go Figure??

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Incorrect Map Name
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2012, 09:18:43 AM »
MS adds some of the quadrangle names to the mapset name.
Some of PA is covered on the USGS 100k Trenton, NJ quad.  I used the USGS 250k and 100k names to help users know which quads (of parts thereof) they have selected.
Which one(s) MS picks, I do not know.

 

anything