Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Adding waypoints using coordintes  (Read 5939 times)

plod1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Adding waypoints using coordintes
« on: January 03, 2012, 08:59:28 AM »
Is me or am I thick?

I have a load of coordintes for a route C2C uk, which I want to enter onto my oregon 450. I cant fathom out how to do it using base camp or direct to the unit. Can it be done firstly and if so how, if not then whats the point in gps?

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 09:26:16 AM »
Is me or am I thick?
Your phrasing above is circular.

Quote
I have a load of coordintes for a route C2C uk, which I want to enter onto my oregon 450. I cant fathom out how to do it using base camp or direct to the unit. Can it be done firstly and if so how, if not then whats the point in gps?
In BaseCamp draw a waypoint, then click on the little cartoon note dialog above it. That will open a full tab where you can edit coordinates.

You can enter coordinates to a point on your OR by selecting "Where To", "Find Another", "Coordinates".  Not sure if you can save this as a waypoint without goint there though.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2012, 09:36:54 AM by Seldom »

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4042
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 09:52:28 AM »
It is very easy to create waypoints from coordinates on your Oregon... it just isn't very intuitive.  :) 

Press Mark Waypoint, then press Edit. Tap the Location field (which will contain your present location) and change the coordinates to whatever you like. Tap the check box, then tap Save.

Now I'm doing this on my Montana since I no longer have an Oregon, but I'm pretty sure they're the same.

plod1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2012, 10:07:53 AM »
Thanks Ive managed that now. Only thing is Ive lots to input and this will take a life time, is there anyway you can enter a batch of coordintes in base camp then transfer across.

Basically I have a lot os cordinates for a walk i want to complete, and wish to enter them on to the gps to create a route, if that makes sense.


Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2012, 10:14:04 AM »
Pretty much works the same way on the OR, Boyd. Mark Waypoint|Save and Edit|Edit Coordinates.  Also lots of other edit options I wasn't aware of, none of them intuitive (just like BaseCamp).

Plod1, to send your waypoints to your OR, connect it to your PC and start BaseCamp.  Select the waypoints, right-click, and send to, select your OR.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4042
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2012, 10:40:17 AM »
Where did the coordinates come from? How accurate are they? If possible, it would be a lot easier to click on points on the map to re-create your waypoints. Clicking is usually faster than typing.  ;)

leszekp

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2012, 11:05:11 AM »
The free DNRGarmin program will take a text list of coordinates as input, and let you export them in GPX format for use in BaseCamp. Google "DNRGArmin" for the software page.

leszekp

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Adding waypoints using coordintes
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2012, 11:09:53 AM »
And there are free text to GPX online converters at these sites:

http://www.gps-data-team.com/convert.php

http://gpsvisualizer.com

 

anything