GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

A few questions

Started by JF12, March 21, 2009, 05:56:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JF12

I'm new to the mapping game here but found a great site with awesome information ;D.  First of all  I just bought a Vista Hcx and I am very pleased with the unit.  Big upgrade of my previous Legend.  I downloaded the USA Maps here along with some select Topos in WI with no issues.  Just a few questions, and I'm sorry if these are too basic...I couldn't find the answers searching the forums. 

1.  I was trying to figure out how to delete maps from my GPS.  I dowloaded a few small topo maps to test the download/load process that I wanted to remove.  But, it appears each time I send maps to GPS, it removes the other maps that were loaded (I think).  Is this the only way to delete maps from my GPS?

2.  Is there anyway to consolidate all of the smaller maps into one larger map?  I would like to turn on/off the topo maps when I'm not using them, since I have USA Maps + topos.  It is very clunky to go through the 500+ maps to get to the topo maps.  If I can't consolidate I think the next best option is to put the topo maps on the top of the mapsource before I send to my unit.  Then, the topo maps show up on the top of my map information screen so I can review them first.

3.  Highway view on the Garmin Vista Hcx.  What would be the best download to utilize this view if any? Seems even with USA maps it only show interstates or major highways, not roads.

4.  Lake details - Are there any downloads for Wis or Midwest lake structure similar to Navionics or Lakemaster available?  Any other basic maps with some level of lake detail? I've been searching with no luck.

Thanks for any help you give me on these questions.  This is an awesome site! 

Boyd