GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Uninstall does not work

Started by Mammillaria43, December 02, 2011, 11:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mammillaria43

I am new to all this, so it is probably easy and something I am doing wrong....

but....

I downloaded a .img map file, and used MapsetToolkit and cgsmapper to install it into my Basecamp system.

The map is shown in the list of installed maps in the window on MapsetToolkit.

I now want to uninstal it, and when I click the uninstal button, having highlighted the map I no longer want, I am asked if I want to uninstal a map, I say yes, and I get the message saying that the map cannot be removed. I have admin priveleges, so it shouldn't be an authority issue.

Can anyone suggest why this function isn't working - am I doing it right?

Seldom

Do you have BaseCamp open when you try to uninstall?  See that it is closed.

Mammillaria43

I did have Basecamp open when I first tried it, but I have tried again after closing Basecamp, and still get the message "Cannot remove a mapset".

I have tried the Uninstall in MapsetToolkit both with "Install in Basecamp" ticket and unticked, and this makes no difference.

I'm loath just to go and delete files as they are logged in the registry.

Any more ideas very welcome.

Seldom

To answer your first question if you highlighted the map you wanted to remove and then hit the uninstall button you were doing it right.

If you were doing it right, I'm pretty much at a loss.  The only suggestion would be to look in the Add/Remove programs dialog and see if the map is listed there and can be removed.

Some questions that might help others viewing this are:

Do the maps still show up in BaseCamp after the failed remove?

I assume you are using a PC.  What OS?

Where did you get the IMG file?  Do you know what compiler (cgpsmapper, mkgmap, something else) was used to generate it?