News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Newbie help appreciated - problem loading into mapsource

Started by kzloy, July 04, 2011, 03:09:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kzloy

Please help with (mostly) random polygon generation of topo map

First post here, been reading for a bit now.  I am new to the entire world of map making for GPSr units and have spent the last several weeks playing with all the tools out there and trying to make sense of it all, quite a bit of reading on this forum, which is great. 

I am not a programmer, but computer literate.  That said, there is a lot of info to be taken in on how to go about making a map for yourself and getting it converted to put into your GPSr.  I have gone through the tutorial here on how to do it, and most of it makes sense, or at least I can follow it, maybe not knowing what it all means.

??? What I am having issues with may be due to my lack of knowledge on all the file types and conversion processes.  I am trying a very basic topo map creation.

Using the tutorial here, I have simply created a 100k contour file, nothing else fancy.  I then exported that into polish format (extension .MP).  I viewed that in gpsmapedit and it appeared to be fine.  I then process the .MP file with gpsmapper and can once again open it with gpsmapedit and it appears fine.  When I go through the process with MapSetToolkit to load into mapsource, I end up with a map that is a lot of odd polygons in roughly the same shape as my contours, but useless.  What am I doing wrong?  I would love to get past this issue to go on to figuring out how to make actually useful maps, but don't want to put the work into it yet until I can get through the most basic of steps.

Thanks!

Seldom