GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Question on a crazy idea

Started by pyrodogg, June 23, 2011, 03:21:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pyrodogg

I've just discovered this site and it's got me thinking...

I'm taking a trip to Lake Powell in a few weeks.  Being that it's a reservoir, the lake level is almost constantly changing (for the past month a 1 foot increase per day).  Maps that i've seen are usually generated for a full pool lake level.

Would it be possible to generate maps based on a lake level you could specify at compile time? Or easily precompile maps based on a range of lake levels?

I currently have no experience in map making but I am a programmer. So, if this is possible it's something i'm interested in throwing some time at.   Any tips would be most appreciated.

Thanks.

Seldom

I don't have any experience with marine maps, but assuming depth contours and land contours are similar the depth indication is a text label associated with the polyline.  In the MP code sample below the label represents 4760 feet above sea level, the Data0 line is the list of lat and lon points describing the polyline, Type 0x20 denotes a minor land contour and the Endlevel denotes the zoom level beyond which it disappears.  

If the depth changes, you'll need a way to change the label to the revised depth.   This is probably done more easily by manipulating the shapefile database you'll probably be using and exporting the shapefile to MP format, or compiling the shapefile with cgpsmapper.  

[POLYLINE]
Type=0x20
Label=4760
EndLevel=3
Data0=(38.33069,-111.00000),(38.33057,-111.00013),(38.33050,-111.00032),(38.33042,-111.00000)
[END]

Finding bathymetry will be your main problem.  If you are lucky, it will be in shapefile format.
Others here, Boyd particularly, may be able to tell you more about how to manipulate the shapefile database.

Boyd

Have not tried that, but Filemaker Pro can do just about anything you want with .dbf files.  :)