News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Basecamp - Please help

Started by Trojans1993, April 20, 2011, 11:19:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trojans1993

Hello,

I am new to GPS other than my Garmin in my car.  I just bought a GPSMAPS 60CSX and installed Basecamp on my PC.  I keep seeing tutorials and screenshots of cool maps with trails and the ability to click a start and end point and Basecamp plots a route that you can download - just what I'm looking to do.

I'm going hikng in Idyllwild next weekend so I type that in the Find, but in my Basecamp all I see is is a white screen with a few black lines for highways (no topos, trails, etc.).  I think I'm missing a big step somewhere.  I tried downloading a mapfile from this site but it was a .img file that Basecamp doesn't recognize.  Do I need to buy Garmins West Coast Topo or something?  I don't mind spending the money if that will get me what I want, but I've read some pretty bad reviews on the Garmin 24K series Topo maps (West Coast at least) and I'm not sure if that's even what I need to do.  I don't want to do anything too fancy, just be able to plot a course on my PC then download it to the Garmin and perhaps upload my trip to see where we actually hiked after the trip is done.  Sorry if this has been discussed already, but I'm frustrated and just need someone to tell me what I'm doing wrong.  Thanks in advance for any input. ???

I s

MichaelJ07

Be patient, Grasshopper and all your questions will be satisfactorily answered.  The mighty ones who freely give their wisdom here will be back shortly.  They are on a coffee break at the moment..... :)
The probability of being watched is directly proportional to the stupidity of your act.

Boyd

First, install Mapsource since you may want to use it as well: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209

You can download some maps from this site and install them like this: http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-open-maps-in-mapsource/