Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Question about maps  (Read 16813 times)

Bullie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2011, 10:38:10 AM »
Now you have my attention!!  Is there already a tutorial on the site that tells me how to do this?

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2011, 10:46:35 AM »
http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/  covers it.  See item 8 for MapSource.



8. Repeat steps 2 through 7 for any other maps you want to load at the same time (such as a Topo map and City Navigator and another topo map).

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3871
  • Karma: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2011, 11:16:17 AM »
This is exactly what I posted earlier....

See this tutorial and note item #8 which says to repeat steps 2 through 7 in order to send more than one map. http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/

Bullie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2011, 12:11:33 PM »
Maybe  ;), but I thought I knew what I was doing then.  Now I am relatively sure I don't know what I am doing so therefore I am more receptive to what was good information both times it was presented. 

You just gave me the answer before I ever got around to the question.  You were too many steps ahead of me.

beiley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2011, 09:13:39 PM »
They used to include "Trip and Waypoint Manager" with all their handhelds. It's a stripped down Mapsource that only includes a rough basemap. I think they stopped doing this, since anyone can download the software from their site.

If you have already installed Basecamp and would like Mapsource, just download and install it here: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209 [nofollow]



That link offers Mapsource for download, but they have a note that says:

WARNING: This software will not work unless you already own a MapSource product.

If I have a 62s, that didn't come with Mapsource on a DVD, does that mean I can't use this download?

Thanks,
Mark

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2011, 02:53:05 AM »
If I have a 62s, that didn't come with Mapsource on a DVD, does that mean I can't use this download?

Thanks,
Mark
You should be using BaseCamp with that GPS:
http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/us/onthetrail/basecamp

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3871
  • Karma: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2011, 01:36:16 PM »
Indrid is correct about using Basecamp because Mapsource cannot properly exchange waypoints with new models like yours. However, the instructions I gave you are correct for installing Mapsource. If you already have installed Basecamp, you can download and install Mapsource with no issues. Basecamp installs a simple map on your computer, and Mapsource will consider that a "Mapsource Product".

beiley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question about maps
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2011, 02:09:57 PM »
Thanks for the help, I'll use BaseCamp then...  It seems like a nice program.

Mark

 

anything