Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Odometer error on Nuvi 500  (Read 4428 times)

NinjaBob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« on: February 22, 2011, 02:53:33 PM »
I made a 200 mile ride with my Nuvi 500 last Saturday. I checked my trip screen periodically and all was well up to about mile 140. At some point after that it went crazy.


Any ideas what caused this?

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 03:29:02 PM »
That's pretty common with automotive units. Something happens where you lose signal or get bad data and the unit thinks you just moved a hundred miles in a second. If you look at the track on your computer, you should see a spike when it happened.

You could use basecamp or mapsource to do this, or other software.

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 08:30:01 PM »
Um, you didn't have any missing time, did you?

Just kidding:)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2011, 02:20:31 AM by Indrid Cold »

NinjaBob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2011, 09:22:06 PM »
I don't recall missing any time on that trip but ya never know  ???
Unfortunately I did not save the track.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2011, 08:53:25 AM »
Look for a file name Current.gpx in the GPX folder on the Nuvi. It may still contain the log (unless you specifically cleared it out).

NinjaBob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2011, 02:06:19 PM »
I did specifically clear the log since I was gowing on another longer ride the following day. I typically save my logs to my desktop but not this time, thinking it was junk due to the 2000 mile error. But now I realize it would have been interesting to see it for the same reason.

alpine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: 0
  • "If you don't have pictures, I wasn't there."
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2011, 10:43:10 AM »
Never had that happen on my 500. I guess I'm going to have to make a lot more trips!

Usually on ATV rides all the GPSs and odometers on the machines agree within 5 miles on 90 mile trips. I would have loved to have seen that track.

I'm guessing you weren't riding a bicycle with that 126 mph max speed!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 10:45:42 AM by alpine »

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2011, 03:58:15 PM »
Good catch.  The Max speed is about a fifth of the moving average and overall average.  Ninjabob, if it's not too incriminating what's the real max speed?

NinjaBob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2011, 04:28:00 PM »
Good catch.  The Max speed is about a fifth of the moving average and overall average.  Ninjabob, if it's not too incriminating what's the real max speed?
Promise not to reveal my true identity. The max speed was set on an earlier ride and I beleive it is accurate. I do have a pretty fast mortorcycle, they say it will go about 155 but I can't vouch for that. The consensus among GPS using motorcyclists is that GPS speed and odometer measurents are very accurate. But we occasioanlly see some obvious errors on the optimistic side.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 04:41:34 PM by NinjaBob »

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Odometer error on Nuvi 500
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2011, 05:06:46 PM »
Good catch.  The Max speed is about a fifth of the moving average and overall average.  Ninjabob, if it's not too incriminating what's the real max speed?
I'm not so sure about that, it is only displaying 3 digits and most likely rolled over.

 

anything