GPSFileDepot.com

New User Getting Place in Google Earth into Basecamp

Started by NorthGA_Hiker, February 14, 2011, 07:31:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NorthGA_Hiker

Hi everyone. First let me say I am fairly new to the whole GPS thing, but not hiking. This site has taught me so much over the past 3 weeks and I finally bought a new Garmin Oregon 550 tonight after researching it to death on this site. I am getting in the mail on Friday. I currently hike the AT a lot and use this site for many of the campsites/water sources/etc

http://www.georgia-atclub.org/trail/map.htm

There are a ton of really good waypoints on the .kml file posted there that I can view in google earth. What is the best way to import individual sites, camp sites/waters sources/parking areas/etc, into Basecamp and then ultimately into the OR550? Hope that question is not too newbish! I have read all the tutorials and have learned a lot, but I am still learning about the different file types. I would say I am pretty tech savy and have built my last 4 computers, so I hope I can learn this piece of useful technology pretty quickly. Thanks again, this is a really good site for people like myself.

Blake Gober

Dalton GA

foresterscott01

This small piece of freeware will do exactly what you want.  It does not pick up the descriptions or KMZ symbols for each waypoint, you'll have to type those in for each one after determining which ones you intend to upload to the Garmin (you can do this right in the software), or you can just spend a few minutes and do all of them in groups (you can see coordinate values for each waypoint to choose the ones you want individually).  The software WILL automatically group the waypoints and trails separately, (ie, vistas, campsites, shelters, bridges, etc.) and it does recognize the individual trail names, so it would be easy to convert whatever ones you needed as a batch; just be sure to export trails as tracks, not routes.  This avoids ALOT of extra waypoints.