Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: detail level on gps vs california topo  (Read 2823 times)

ndamico

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
detail level on gps vs california topo
« on: January 07, 2011, 07:09:05 PM »
Hi,

i have a edge 800 and oregon 550.  when i use mapsource and view california topo i see quite a bit of detail.  when i select an area and download it to either of my GPS units i don't see near the deatil (elevation lines, etc). i've set the 550 to display map detail at the highest and the downloaded map is selected. the 800 doesn't have a detail setting.

what am i doing wrong?

thank you

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: detail level on gps vs california topo
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 08:06:11 PM »
With the GPSrs set to nomal detail the full set of features should be displaying at the 500' or 800' display level.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: detail level on gps vs california topo
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 08:06:51 PM »
Are you sure the map is enabled? Sounds like you could be just looking at the basemap. Are you sure you are looking in an area that is covered by the map tiles that you sent to the GPS? How far did you zoom in? What do you see at the 500 foot zoom level?

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: detail level on gps vs california topo
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 08:07:40 PM »
Cool - simul-post.  ;D

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: detail level on gps vs california topo
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2011, 08:10:55 PM »
That mapset is also two mapsets in one.  The planimetric data is in one and the contours lines in another.  In the quads/tiles selected box on the left side of MS, did you have some with names and others with numbers?  Best to select an area using the marque tool to get both.

ndamico

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: detail level on gps vs california topo
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2011, 12:43:07 AM »
You hit the nail on the head! thank you very much. i was only selecting the larger squares. i didn't realized there were other smaller ones inside the larger ones.

thank you again!

That mapset is also two mapsets in one.  The planimetric data is in one and the contours lines in another.  In the quads/tiles selected box on the left side of MS, did you have some with names and others with numbers?  Best to select an area using the marque tool to get both.