GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Viewing multiple maps at once

Started by michaelgumtow, November 15, 2010, 08:27:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

michaelgumtow

I am fairly new to downloading maps on my Garmin device, and I am having difficulty viewing them.  I downloaded a topo map to my sd card and it works great, but the problem I am having is with the second map I downloaded which shows public land boundries, a feature that the topo map doesn't have.  When I goto my map on the device I can only see the topo map eventhough both maps are downloaded to my sd card.  How can I get the public land boundries to show over my current topo map is my question?  Or is this not possible?

Thanks!

jbensman

Which maps are you refering to?

Unless the maps are transparent, they will not show on top of other maps. 

michaelgumtow

The topo map is called NE topo part 1 which is non-transparent and the second map is called Land Ownership which is transparent.  They are both available for download from this website.

Indrid Cold

You need to enable both mapsets on your Garmin device. How you would do this would depend on which Garmin device you have. You would have to enlighten us on that detail to assist you further.

Boyd

Also realize that maps have a stacking order that is determined by information in the map. I haven't done much with transparent maps, but if you're combining them from different authors it may be a crap-shoot as to which has higher priority. So the transparent map might be drawn first, then the opaque map might be drawn afterwards, covering it up.

jbensman

Landownership is my map-what state are you trying to display?  It should work on top of NE Topo.  Are you sure you are looking in a place where it have coverage?

michaelgumtow

All maps on my device have been enabled, and the state I'm trying to get is Wisconsin.  When I look at the map on Mapsource it does display coverage for this state.

jbensman