Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: IDL Runtime  (Read 8163 times)

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
IDL Runtime
« on: January 25, 2009, 06:30:41 PM »
What is it? I've dowloaded the dem files and am at the next step to process the files but I can't figure out how to use the demo2top program. I think I'm missing the IDL runtime??

Thanks for any help,

insatiable

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 08:16:41 PM »
[EDITED] got it before me.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 12:13:38 PM by Indrid Cold »
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2009, 08:22:14 AM »
Thanks for the info, i'll try that this evening.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 45
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2009, 01:10:25 PM »
I gave up on this myself, but maybe you will have better luck. See this thread: http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,99.0.html

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2009, 05:01:17 PM »
in case you get to Boyd's point I wrote a program that'll do what dem2topo does: http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,104.0.html
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2009, 05:53:20 AM »
I must be computer illiterate; i downloaded your new program and it asks where to find files and I don't know where to tell it to look? Seems like th FW Tools, PastGis, and cGPSMapper are not there.


insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2009, 11:28:32 AM »
I've found the software and installed it but the PostGris failed when trying to create the data base (i'm using Vista)?? is there away to get around this?

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2009, 12:11:03 PM »
On the tutorial it shows its used for the NHD files?? Can something else be used?

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2009, 02:27:04 PM »
something else can't be used easily.

It shouldn't have failed in vista; make sure you had admin rights (right click on the file and click install as admin).  You are installing postgresql then postgis right?  http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/installing-and-setting-up-postgresql-with-postgis/  It works on my Vista machine

In addition you will likely need to patch it after it installs: http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,101.0.html (its in the thread I posted it).
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2009, 06:01:02 PM »
Can you just use the elevation data and make a "topo" only type map?

Thanks
Insatiable

insatiable

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 07:17:12 PM »
I have a Garmin CSX60, can I use the contour overlay over the map that comes standard w/the Garmin?

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2009, 07:44:45 PM »
Yes, but if you do that I would make it transparent so that it will just lay over existing road maps.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 45
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2009, 01:07:27 PM »
Quote
The only thing the basemap has that Ibycus' maps don't is that it will autoroute on the limited roads it does have.

Actually I believe you'll find that the basemap will continue to autoroute (to the best of its ability) even if you make Ibycus active. On another forum there was some disagreement about whether the Garmin topo maps could route (they cannot), so I played with them a bit on my 60csx and realized that the routing was due to the basemap. This is also the case on the Nuvi. The basemap is always active.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 12:14:05 PM by Indrid Cold »

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 45
    • View Profile
Re: IDL Runtime
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2009, 04:39:59 AM »
There's no way to turn off the basemap on the Nuvi; it's always active. I suppose you could delete the file... but that may very well brick your unit.  :o