GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Making Garmin Transparent Map from KMZ/KML File

Started by JasonC, September 30, 2010, 06:43:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonC

I am fairly new to map making.  I have a Garmin 62s, and have already spent hours installing maps from this site and learning how to use them on my GPSr.

I am trying to make a map from an existing KMZ file that the state of Minnesota has on their DNR website of all the Wildlife Management areas.  I also intend on doing the same for the State Forests, Parks, etc.

The KMZ file is found here:
http://maps.dnr.state.mn.us/compass/wma/kml/mndnr_wmas.kmz

it includes boundaries for all of the WMAs in Minnesota, as well as parking areas and other POI.

I started by using GPSBabel or KML2GPX converters to convert them to a GPX file.  Then I tried using EZimg or GPX2IMG to convert them into a img file to display as a map.  The converters seem to make a decent GPX file (all the boundaries become tracks) but when I try to convert these GPX files to a map, the tracks won't convert or I get errors like "layer 0 missing"  I am wondering if I going about this the correct way.  Thanks in advance.  If I get this figured out, I will be sure to share them here.

Jason

jbensman

My Trails already contains a state map for MN.  While I have not checked, I think it already contains that data.  It has been a while since I have done anything to the map. 

I use the freeware gpsmapedit http://www.geopainting.com/en/

Do you want to take over and maintain that part of My Trails?  I can email you the MN source file and walk you through how to add, change, or remove stuff from it.  Whenever you have changes, you can email me the source file and I will update My Trails to include it. 

I live in IL so it woud be much better haivng someone in MN maintaining the MN trail map. 

JasonC