Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Can't load topo map onto Rino520  (Read 3122 times)

Barbarossa13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« on: October 03, 2010, 05:05:36 PM »
Ok, I just bought a Rino520HCx, and I'm trying to put the Washington topo map onto it.  I've installed Mapsource.  I'm able to bring the map up in Mapsource.  I highlighted what I want, but when I go to send it to my device I get an error.  It says, "the required memory for storing maps is missing from your gps."  I put a 4gb card in there already.  However, I am able to load the map onto the card with my little card reader.  But when I put the card into the Rino, the map still doesn't show up.  So is there a specific way to install memory cards?  In the owner's manual it looked like it was simply drop it in.  Sorry if this is confusing, I've been fighting this thing for 2 hours now and I'm getting flustered!  Thanks in advance for any insight!

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 07:08:18 PM »
This has happened to me sometimes when I was testing my maps and re-using an old TDB file rather than using a new one.  I fixed it by formatting the card.

Barbarossa13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 07:24:07 PM »
Thanks for the response seldom_sn.  I've tried re-formatting the card a couple times now.  Do they just go bad all of the sudden?  It was working fine before.  Thanks again.

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2010, 05:59:53 PM »
I'm not aware of sudden failures of MicroSD cards.  I can think of a one other thing that might be worth checking. 

I'm pretty sure the Rhino has an operating system similar to the 60CSX. If I'm correct that means that the your GPSr can only use a single IMG file called gmapsupp.IMG, and it should be in the Garmin folder.


Gregoat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2010, 07:55:58 PM »
Could this be my problem with my 530hcx?  If so how do you get the map file to download to the gpsr unit in the correct file format?  I have been having the same problem getting the Idaho Topo to show up on my unit.  Thanks for any help.

huntinernie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2010, 11:11:32 PM »
I have 3 530hcx the image must be in a garmin folder it cant read a card biger than 4g and some times the card has to be reset in its slot in the garmin . A image over 2g slows down the unit. my 530hcx will not load off a usb cable they will always error called garmin they said they are working on it and to load off card reader . I am loading the 24k not the 100k.

Barbarossa13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2010, 08:26:40 AM »
Well folks I fixed my problem.  I finally got angry and went out and bought another micro sd card.  My Rino520 works like a champ now.  It seems strange to me that the other mirco card all of the sudden would go out on me like that.  Thanks for all the help!

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Can't load topo map onto Rino520
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2010, 12:14:46 PM »
That is pretty odd but glad its working for you now.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

 

anything