GPSFileDepot.com

Generating 24K maps for entire washington -- a little help

Started by dhisum_dhisum, January 19, 2009, 06:39:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dhisum_dhisum

Hello, I am a newbie. I downloaded the DEM data for the entire state of washington and have finally after a lot of work generated 40ft contours of the whole state in the Global Mapper gmp format. Since GlobalMapper would cop out when I would give it the whole state at once, I did it chunk by chunk. Today I selected all Washington state subbasins and provided the email address to download the files in the morning but have not received anything so far. Any ideas how long it usually takes?

Thanks
-Dhisum

-Oz-

Anywhere from 2hrs to 48 hours; if its been longer than 48 hours resubmit the request.

Large orders seem to arrive around 4am.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

dhisum_dhisum

Thanks. The data has mostly arrived. I will muck with this and get back to you folks with results.

-Oz-

Dan Blomberg
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

krellor

When I requested the NHD data it took them 5 days to get back to me for Washington State.  I just finished a map of the state with 200 foot contours, and am generating one with 40ft contours right now.  I found with the contour data exporting in smaller grids helps as parts of the north cascades will eat up all your system memory and global mapper will throw an error and exit.  Good luck.

-Oz-

will either of you two be releasing the map anytime soon?

I know a lot of people are looking for washington, esp since even the "better" one isn't free.
Dan Blomberg
See/Download My Maps!

krellor