Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...  (Read 5294 times)

adrienqa66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« on: June 26, 2010, 05:18:28 PM »
Hello,

I followed the step-by-step instructions to install the California Topo map on my Macintosh and then on my Garmin Nuvi 660.

I have the MapInstall software.

I downloaded from the web, the "28-5234-California_Topo.tgz" file and then extracted it to get the "California Topo.gmapi" file.  Then, as per the web instructions for the Macintosh, I went to MapInstall (I didn't double-click the file itself), and I selected the SD card as the place of installation and then the California Topo map name automatically showed up on the left corner of the screen with the screen showing the map.

I elected to select the entire map and then I proceeded to install it.

After installation was completed, I turned on my Garmin (which had been connected in data-transfer mode) and then went to the Tools icon and "Map" and then "Map Info" and there were three maps showing, one was the Garmin Nuvi branded "base" map (2009), and then there was the California Topo map; but it was listed twice.  I checked the Nuvi and there's only one file listed.

So I don't understand why there is a duplicate.

What I've done now is erased the map from the Garmin through my computer, then deleted the file I downloaded, plus the extracted "California Topo.gmapi" file it generated in the same directory (downloads from my browser automatically appear in the Downloads folder and so do extracts when I double-click the file to be extracted.  (tgz file extracted to gmapi file).

I checked my Garmin and no trace of the Topo maps is found (good).  Then, I downloaded the file from the web again and followed the instructions given on this website for the Macintosh.

I am now in the process of installing the map on my Garmin again, hoping that the duplicate issue won't happen again.

I was wondering if other people have had this happen to them.

Is it a known "bug" that is minimal that people just ignore?

Thank you.  I will reply to let people know whether it happens again after I complete the install.

adrienqa66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 07:35:58 PM »
I did a reinstall, but California Topo still appears twice on the map list in the Map --> Map Info section of my Garmin Nuvi 660.

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3849
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2010, 03:57:15 AM »
I am not familiar with that map, but it may be working properly. For example, there might be two sections of the map (like north and south). It depends on how it was constructed.

Does this seem to be causing a problem on the Nuvi? Does everything look right on the screen? If so, then I wouldn't worry about it.

Try disabling City Navigator and zoom way out. Now disable one of the two California maps. What happens? Does part of the map disappear?

adrienqa66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 01:47:38 PM »
Thanks for your response.  I haven't had the opportunity to try those things, but I will as soon as I do.  Thanks for your suggestions!

The weird thing is that there's just one map that was installed; yet the machine views it as two; even though the "space" for the map is not double what MapInstall said it would be.  So, in a way, there's two "aliases" so to speak for the same map that display on my machine.

It's probably unlikely that it is a problem.

I will post if I get any more info. to share.

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 05:29:27 PM »
This has happened before; however, I do not remember what the outcome was.

It may be that that mapset is two mapsets in one - one for the contour lines and one for everything else.  Each might have the same name.

adrienqa66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: California Topo appears twice on Garmin Nuvi 660...
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 12:26:00 PM »
Thank you very much for the clarification!