Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: help with dakota 10  (Read 1886 times)

woodwizard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
help with dakota 10
« on: April 13, 2010, 02:51:41 AM »
am not stupid but can't figure this out.say I have a set of #s and want to get to that spot.how do I program them in to unit or do I just go there and wander around aimlessly until I hit that spot.also who ever writes the manuals for these things should include more info not just assume people already know what they do.also will basecamp3.0.1 help this unit?oh and how do ya know what software version is installed on unit.
KNOWLEDGE THAT ISN'T PASSED ON IS WASTED

Boyd

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: help with dakota 10
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 04:55:44 AM »
What is "a set of #s"? Do you mean coordinates?

If so, first look at the format of the coordinates and see if your Dakota is configured to match. This is done with Setup > Position Format > Position Format. Choose the option that matches your coordinates.

Now if you just want to go to this location, from the main screen press Where to > Coordinates and enter them. Unless you have routable maps installed, it will draw a straight line from your current location to the position that you entered.

If you want to create a waypoint from the coordinates (if you have a whole list, or if you want to use the position again in the future), press Mark Waypoint > Save and Edit. Now choose Change Location and enter the coordinates. You could also choose a special icon and give the waypoint a name from this screen.

BaseCamp is used to transfer information between your computer and GPS. It can do a lot of things for you but it isn't really needed for the basic stuff. Your unit does not support the BirdsEye aerial imagery however, and that is (arguably) the main advantage of using version 3.0.1,

Basecamp has nothing to do with the software installed on the GPS itself. It's a separate computer program. To see what software is installed on the GPS, press Setup and press the down-arrow a few times until you get to the button that says About. This will tell you everything about the software that is installed.

To make sure that you have the newest software, just connect the GPS to your computer and run the Garmin WebUpdater program: http://www8.garmin.com/products/webupdater/howtoinstall.jsp

A word to the wise here... if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Garmin software updates frequently introduce new bugs. I would not do an update unless you are trying to fix a specific problem.

woodwizard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: help with dakota 10
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 08:39:57 AM »
thank you Boyd your info is explained so much better than that so call manual that came with the unit.the coordinates are to sites I am going to  and was beginning to think the old map and compass worked fine before all this technology.again thanks and I'll probably be picking your brain again
KNOWLEDGE THAT ISN'T PASSED ON IS WASTED

 

anything