Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Mapsettoolkit help - install results in Mapsource error in TDB_REGIONDIR.CPP  (Read 8973 times)

hntr

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I am using mapsettoolkit v1.62 beta to install some topo maps into Mapsource.  Mapsource generates an error log and closes - there are 10-20 instances (with different product id's)
of this error shown below
  <Error>
    <Exception>
      <SourceCodeLocation>
        <SourceFileName>TDB_REGIONDIR.CPP</SourceFileName>
        <SourceFileLine>164</SourceFileLine>
      </SourceCodeLocation>
      <Extra>
Product ID: 291766273
Region ID: 0</Extra>
    </Exception>
    <Application>
      <Name>MapSource</Name>
      <Build>
        <Version>
          <VersionMajor>6</VersionMajor>
          <VersionMinor>12</VersionMinor>
          <BuildMajor>4</BuildMajor>
          <BuildMinor>0</BuildMinor>
        </Version>
        <Type>Release</Type>
        <Time>May  1 2007, 14:47:56</Time>
        <Builder>SQA</Builder>
      </Build>
      <LanguageID>1033</LanguageID>
      <PartNumber>006-A0041-00</PartNumber>
    </Application>
    <Computer>
      <OperatingSystem>Windows Vista Service Pack 1</OperatingSystem>
      <Processor>x86, Processor Level: 6, Processors:4, Model: 15 Stepping: 11</Processor>
      <RamSize>2095692</RamSize>
    </Computer>
    <Time>2009-08-18T14:30:00Z</Time>
  </Error>

Whats confusing is when I do a trial run with 0.1 x 0.1 arc degree portion, the map displays fine in MapSource. Then when I run the whole state I get the error.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2009, 07:56:48 AM by hntr »

hntr

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thanks, I have already tried to reach him but have been unsuccessful.

The maps are working fine with sendmap, but I want to make the nice .exe files

maps4gps

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
He may be on holiday.  He has posted on this and the geocaching forums.

s36

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Were you able to resolve this issue?  I'm running into the same problem.

hntr

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
yes, it's working now

If I can remember it was simply a problem with the Windows registry.

bob_piper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
What is the registry problem and how do you fix it? I am having the same problem with MapSource.

Thanks,
Bob

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Karma: 28
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
I also would like the answer; my "solution" may just be a fluke
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

hntr

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
You need to set up the registry exactly as the .reg file is set up when it is output from cpreview

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Karma: 28
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
hntr: that isn't completely true since with win7 64-bit I have to tweak the .reg file so that it installs to the proper 32bit directories.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
hntr: that isn't completely true since with win7 64-bit I have to tweak the .reg file so that it installs to the proper 32bit directories.

Could you elaborate on that, Oz?  I've been installing maps on a new Win7 64bit machine, using an installer I wrote for my old XP machine, with no tweaks I'm aware of.  Of course MapSource went in as a new 32 bit app.

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Karma: 28
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
the installer (if its NSIS) automatically knows; the .reg file needs to know to put the files in \Wow6432Node\ in the software area because MapSource is a 32bit program.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

Seldom

  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
If I understand this correctly, you are saying that the Reg file cgpsmapper creates in cpreview needs to be tweaked?  It's been a while since I've used one of those.

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Karma: 28
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Yea, that is exactly what I'm saying...
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

 

anything