Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Topo Process Program (BETA!)  (Read 151288 times)

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #120 on: January 12, 2010, 01:11:07 PM »
This is really frustrating. This is not solving the problem, but I may not have installed it correctly.
I hate Vista! Why don't you develop in Java instead  ;)

I hate vb actually; I just never learned Java...  I was thinking of trying to learn python now so that it can be cross-platform.  I can't wait to try and install this on windows 7 :)
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

savage

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #121 on: January 12, 2010, 01:17:28 PM »
Hi Oz,

Were you out of touch for a while? If you want to rewrite it and are ready to learn something new then I suggest Java. Python is fine by me, but if you do it in Java, I will help you.

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #122 on: January 12, 2010, 02:12:06 PM »
Sounds like Java it will be, is there a good compiler to start with?

Yea, I spent the last half a year in Afghanistan.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

savage

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #123 on: January 12, 2010, 02:43:58 PM »
Welcome back!

At work we use NetBeans as a development environment (www.NetBeans.org). You probably want Java SE, but you can download everything if you want to use it for PHP and Web stuff.

You can also look at Eclipse (www.eclipse.org). It is very similar to NetBeans.

Both are equally good.

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #124 on: January 13, 2010, 06:59:51 PM »
Good evening, after working fall thru early winter with my map I have decided to re-build from scratch. I found queer little things that are not up to snuff. I have started gathering the data already. Question is: I see no reference to a newer version other than a query. Is there one?
Thanks-Marc

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #125 on: January 13, 2010, 08:12:55 PM »
I haven't made any updates yet; the only thing that doesn't work is the GNIS data; just need to install the vb program on my new laptop
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #126 on: January 14, 2010, 07:15:42 AM »
Thanks for the reply Oz, shall continue with out supervision.

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #127 on: January 14, 2010, 01:03:56 PM »
Any reason to think that postgis 8.4 will be a problem?
I just downloaded and installed FW tools, Postgresql 8.4 installed postgis data base and made a transport run, doing so separately.
Extract and download: OK no problems (copied files to separate location so I would not have to do it again)
Combine files: OK all lines result, copied again
postgis: resulted in just a transportation.prj file only

I seem to re-call this from before
here is the error:
Shapefile type: Arc
Postgis type: MULTILINESTRING[2]

here is the settings.inc:
[Software]
fwtools=C:\Program Files\FWTools2.4.6\bin
postgis=C:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\8.4\bin
cgpsmapper=C:\Program Files\cgpsmapper.exe
[User]
dem=C:\washington\contours\51725823
interval=20
trans=C:\washington\transport
gnis=C:\washington\gnis
nhd=C:\washington\nhd
[PostGIS]
host=localhost
database=postgis
user=postgres
pass=kimmei

Thanks-

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #128 on: January 14, 2010, 05:40:53 PM »
Alright; I'll be installing the latest postgresql and postgis this weekend so i can test then.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #129 on: January 20, 2010, 07:40:29 PM »
Good day all, Oz any luck ferreting out issues with new Post? Other some of the layout ones.
Cheers-Marc

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #130 on: January 23, 2010, 10:49:52 AM »
Good Morning, I just processed my nhd data. I watched my folder as the topo process created water body.shp and so forth. All went well until it combined everything, when it was done what was left once more was just prj files. Thoughts?
error log:
Shapefile type: PolygonZ
Postgis type: MULTIPOLYGON[4]

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #131 on: January 24, 2010, 05:21:07 PM »
My windows 7 computer started crashing so I had to fix that and now try to install it.

If you look in the database with pgadmin III you shoudl be able to see if its ever loading data into the database.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #132 on: January 26, 2010, 08:30:06 AM »
I do not see that is connects, opened admin and watched also same thing. I do not see a error in the settings, postgis 1.4 for PostgreSQL 8.4 was installed via the stack builder.
[Software]
fwtools=C:\Program Files\FWTools2.4.6\bin
postgis=C:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\8.4\bin
cgpsmapper=C:\Program Files\cgpsmapper.exe
[User]
dem=C:\washington\contours\51725823
interval=20
trans=C:\washington\transport
gnis=C:\washington\gnis
nhd=C:\washington\nhd
[PostGIS]
host=localhost
database=postgis
user=postgres
pass=kimmei

deepspace

  • Mapper
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #133 on: January 26, 2010, 11:38:53 AM »
I found the answer. In the 8.3 version you open the pg_hba.conf file from start>all programs>postgresql X.X>Configurations Files
There is not such thing with 8.4.
one needs to open explore/program files/postgresqls/8.4/data/pg_hba.conf and change the settings to trust as done with 8.3

-Oz-

  • Map Maker!
  • Administrator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
  • Karma: 27
    • View Profile
    • GPSFileDepot
Re: Topo Process Program (BETA!)
« Reply #134 on: January 26, 2010, 01:58:05 PM »
Good to know, glad you figured it out because I couldn't get it since I did that and didn't realize I had done it :)

I'll modify the tutorial.
Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!