News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

GPSMap 62sc gmapsupp.img File Question

Started by [email protected], April 21, 2013, 08:56:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

[email protected]

Hi All,

My Background: I'm new at this - my last handheld was a GPSMap 76 - haven't used a handheld for 6-10 years.

I've run into a problem with my 62sc after installing the Nevada Topo from GPSFileDepot.

I'm no longer able to select routes I downloaded from basecamp or routes I create on the device itself (via Route Planner).

When I select a route downloaded form basecamp (Worldwide Autoroute DEM Basemap, NR), the device powers off.

When I select a route I created, via Route Planner, I see "Map error encountered. There are no routable maps on this device".

My 62sc has the basemap enabled and the Nevada Topo and BirdsEyes disabled.

I have researched this 'til I'm blue in the face and every suggestion refers to the gmapsupp.img file in the Garmin folder on the device.

I don't have a gmapsupp.img file in the Garmin folder on my 62sc.

I don't know if it was ever there, it hasn't been there since I became aware of its use.

I've tried repeated downloads and never see the gmapsupp.img file.

All of the suggested (forum) resolutions (that I've found) have been in the 2010-2012 timeframe.

I tried to open an 'issue' with Garmin, but their support form errors as well... "There is a problem sending your email. Please try again later.". I've tried 'later' and 'later' and... I tried emailing them at support(@sign)garmin.com - don't know if it will actually reach anyone or not.

Please tell me if the gmapsupp.img file is  still a player in all of this 62sc map stuff or should I be looking for some other file that replaced it

If the gmapsupp.img file is still used, is there some way to force it to be recreated?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,

Danny

Seldom

Have you loaded a routable map to your 62sc?