GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => Using The Maps/Garmin Software => Topic started by: byrond on August 28, 2009, 02:15:31 PM

Title: Using City Select V6
Post by: byrond on August 28, 2009, 02:15:31 PM
When I purchased my old Garmin GPS 5, I bought a copy of City Select N.A. V6 along with it.  I used to load maps to the GPS 5 regularly with no problem.  Now I have moved on and am using a Garmin 60CSX.  When I load my good old City Select N.A. V6, I get a message that the 60 CSX cannot unlock the maps.  Was the City Select N.A. V 6 “associated” with my GPS 5 in some way?  Will I have to purchase another copy of City Select N.A. to use with my 60 CSX?  Or can I “disassociate” my copy of City Select from my GPS 5 and then “associate” it with my new 60 CSX?  Thanks in advance for you help.  Byron
Title: Re: Using City Select V6
Post by: -Oz- on August 29, 2009, 09:57:38 AM
just contact garmin and unlock it to your second unit.  You may actually be able to use the unlock wizard to do it because I think it was setup to know that two unlocks were allowed.
Title: Re: Using City Select V6
Post by: byrond on August 29, 2009, 02:11:34 PM
Dan,
Thanks to you for the very valuable advice.  I will call Garmin this weekend and work out the details.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.
Byron
Title: Re: Using City Select V6
Post by: byrond on September 02, 2009, 10:23:46 AM
I just got off the phone with Garmin.  They were very helpful and…you guys were absolutely right!  They said I could associate my older version of City Navigator with two units.  They gave me another unlock code and I am happily navigating away!  Thanks again for your help.  Byron :)