GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => GPSr Units => Topic started by: bigbair on May 29, 2012, 04:37:48 PM

Title: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 29, 2012, 04:37:48 PM
I tried loading my custom maps onto a Nuvi 2595 today and they are shown in the map directory and can be toggled on/off but do not display. I toggled tried with the citynavigator maps toggled on and off to see if it was drawing on top but it didn't help.

I tried installing from mapsource into /Maps and then tried renaming to custom.img. Then saved in the hidden /system folder as gmapsupp.img and renamed to custom.img. I also pulled the micro sd from a different nuvi that my maps were installed on and still it would only show the name.

I downloaded and loaded a transparent topo map from this site and it actually showed up. Any idea what could be happening to keep my maps from showing up? They have worked on every other device I have loaded them to.

I am using a custom typ with my maps and have them loaded into mapsource to install from if that makes any difference.

Thanks
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 29, 2012, 04:56:53 PM
I've been having problems with my vector maps on my nuvi 1490.  Did your maps look like this? (http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,2856.msg17133.html#new)
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 29, 2012, 05:32:54 PM
The DEMs aren't overriding my maps. When I turn off the city navigator the basemap is all that shows. Maybe it is drawing as a priority over my maps?
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 29, 2012, 05:42:02 PM
It's entirely possible that you aren't doing anything wrong. Garmin is messing around with map selection on the new Nuvi models. The new firmware for the 37xx will not allow you to enable another map along with City Navigator. The map selection menu is evidently completely broken on the 2300 series. Maybe that is also happening on the 2505 series? See: https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=27826

However, on the Nuvi series you must make a folder named Map in the root directory and place your .img files there. Any name should work. If you place your .img files in the .System or Garmn directory, they will not work.

I am assuming that you have disabled City Navigator?
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 29, 2012, 06:34:56 PM
I have tried with the city navigator enabled and disabled.

Mapsource is installing my maps into /Map in the root directory by default. Since it wasn't working there I started moving it around and changing the name on it. I seem to figure out more things by trial/error than any other way.

I tried loading the Garmin 24k topos along with city navigator and they cannot both load at the same time as was discussed in the link you posted. BUT when I loaded the topo maps I downloaded from here they will load with the city navigator and work fine. I don't want the topos on this unit this was just a trial that leads me to believe that the my custom maps should display on it.

Since my maps will show in the directory but not draw I think
A- Maybe its related to zoom levels? (I am only using 1 because I haven't taken the time to learn the settings and always get errors when I try to change them)
B- somehow related to draw priority?
C- related to my custom typ file? I did not use unique identifiers when I made my labels but it has worked so far.

I could be way off. I'm just trying to trouble shoot and throw some ideas around with you guys that really know this stuff.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 29, 2012, 07:00:56 PM
Could you post a screenshot, or aren't you getting anything at all?
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 05:42:09 AM
I started to reply that I am getting nothing at all but that isn't entirely accurate. I can see the name of my custom map and select it. A couple pictures are worth thousands of words-

Here are some screen shots of the same location at 500' zoom
1 with basemap (to show that the map displaying with the topos is the city navigator and not the basemap)
1 with City Navigator- 2012.20
1 with custom 24k Topo and 2012.20 City Navigator
1 Showing selection page and all maps selected

Also a screenshot from a Nuvi 200. Same location, same scale, same topo and same custom map, different City Navigator- 2012.10

Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 05:52:38 AM
Specs-

Model: Nuvi 2595
Hardware Version: Nuvi 25x5 C2 i V5 8GB 128MB
Unit Id: xxxxxxxxxx
Software Version 3.70
Audio Version: 2.90
Voice Command: 2.10
Text Version: 3.70
GPS Firmware 2.89
Bluetooth Firmware: 5.03 A15
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 30, 2012, 07:07:42 AM
Looks like you downloaded a transparent topo from here.  That will draw on top of any drawpriority.  If you are concerned about draw priority, compile the map as Transparent, just for a test.  If it shows up on the nuvi then, you'll know to bump up your draw priority.  Or is your map transparent already?

Do the maps show correctly in MapSource or BaseCamp?  I've never tried a map with only one (or 2?) zoom levels but I'm pretty sure that it should be really crowded and messy when viewed from further out.  You'd see too much detail rather than not enough.

Does the screenshot of the nuvi200 show your custom map correctly?  If so, it sounds like an issue with your other nuvi.

Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 30, 2012, 07:37:47 AM
You pretty much lost me with those screenshots. Is "Kevin Property" the map you're concerned with? And does it just consist of the red outline that can bee seen on the Nuvi 200?

Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time? Does the Keven Property map show if you disable all the other maps? What is the mc73_wv map? Is it also something you made? What is the draw priority of that map? If you are using two maps with the same draw priorities at the same time, that might cause inconsistent behavior on different models.

You can use gmaptool to view or change draw priorites, so that might help with troubleshooting.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 30, 2012, 07:42:42 AM
Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time?
IIRC bigbair is making a map for logging trucks, so contours, routable roads and property lines all are useful.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 08:30:39 AM
Lots of questions. I guess that means I have plenty of interest. Thats awesome

"Looks like you downloaded a transparent topo from here."
Correct, the custom topo is "mc73_wv map" one I downloaded from here to test if it would display on the Nuvi 2595. It does. I don't actually want topo lines on this unit. I am using it as a reference to show that the unit is capable of displaying a custom map with the City Navigator, even though it will not show my map.

"Or is your map transparent already?"
My map is transparent already.

"Do the maps show correctly in MapSource or BaseCamp?"
Yes, they show great in MapSource

"I've never tried a map with only one (or 2?) zoom levels but I'm pretty sure that it should be really crowded and messy when viewed from further out.  You'd see too much detail rather than not enough. "
I am using only "Level0" but I guess technically you are always using 2? Assigning zoom levels confuses me. They actually look fine to me though. Probably since I use my units for different purposes than most. I can actually zoom out and spot other properties 100 miles away, scroll to them and zoom in, set a POI and navigate to it. It is great.

"Does the screenshot of the nuvi200 show your custom map correctly?  If so, it sounds like an issue with your other nuvi."

Yes, the Nuvi 200 performs and displays perfectly. It definitely is an issue related to the other Nuvi. That's what I'm hoping to figure out.

"You pretty much lost me with those screenshots. Is "Kevin Property" the map you're concerned with? And does it just consist of the red outline that can bee seen on the Nuvi 200?"
Yes, Kevin Property is the map I am concerned with and it is the red outline seen on the Nuvi 200.

"Why would you enable City Navigator, a topo AND that map at the same time? Does the Keven Property map show if you disable all the other maps? What is the mc73_wv map? Is it also something you made? What is the draw priority of that map? If you are using two maps with the same draw priorities at the same time, that might cause inconsistent behavior on different models."
In this particular instance they are enabled together to show that custom maps will load and draw concurrent with City Navigator.
No idea about draw priorities. That is when I get lost.

"You can use gmaptool to view or change draw priorites, so that might help with troubleshooting."
I will check this out.

"IIRC bigbair is making a map for logging trucks, so contours, routable roads and property lines all are useful."
Almost correct. Good memory. That is what I did with a couple other Nuvis. This time I am just trying to load property lines so that "official guests" can tour the property and know at all times if they are on the property or not. No need for contours on this one.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 30, 2012, 08:53:22 AM
Sounds like its a device issue with your 2595, to me.  If your guests can use handhelds, you might want to give them one of those.  AFAIK there's no problem displaying any map from this site on handhelds.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 30, 2012, 09:04:15 AM
Lots of questions. I guess that means I have plenty of interest. Thats awesome

Honestly, I lost interest in topo maps on the nuvi series a couple years ago.  ;)
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 09:13:10 AM
I just downloaded gmaptool. My draw priority was 25. I changed it to 30 and the map still didn't show up.

Any recommendation on what might be a good setting for it?
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 30, 2012, 09:39:49 AM
City Navigator has a priority of 30. If you want your map to show at the same time it should have a priority of 31. However, if you are using two maps with the same priority I'm not really sure what will happen and wouldn't be surprised if different GPS devices treated this differently (as I suggested above).
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 09:54:07 AM
Ok. Thanks

The topo map is a transparent and priority of 25 and it shows up over the City Navigator that is priority 30. That confuses me further.

I tried 30, 31, 51, 100 and my map (which is transparent) and it never showed up. I then tried 31 again and used gmaptool to convert from transparent to solid. Still no success. Maybe it is a different problem altogether. I don't know what to check now though.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 30, 2012, 10:10:50 AM
You lost me there... AFAIK the only valid draw priorities are in the range of 0 through 31. I believe that when you create a map using the transparent option in GPSMapedit (and other software), draw priority will default to 31. But I don't know because I never use transparent maps.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 10:24:05 AM
You lost me there... AFAIK the only valid draw priorities are in the range of 0 through 31. I believe that when you create a map using the transparent option in GPSMapedit (and other software), draw priority will default to 31. But I don't know because I never use transparent maps.

I was just trying anything I could think of. I read about custom maps and kmz files somewhere else and thought the draw orders might be the same and gave it a try-

CM7.) How does Draw Order affect my Garmin Custom Maps?

0: Image will not display on map page and will not be visible in Custom Map enable/disable button [needs verification]
1-49: Image will display on map page under vector data like roads and contour lines in any enabled Garmin vector maps, but it will be visible on top of any ground cover in the vector maps.
50-100: Image will display on top of all Garmin vector map data.

If multiple overlapping custom maps are loaded draw order will be used to determine which map is displayed on top (higher number).

Waypoints, tracks, geocaches and POIs always display on top of the Custom Map.


Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Boyd on May 30, 2012, 10:44:46 AM
Here's the problem with that. Garmin uses the term "Custom Maps" to describe raster imagery embedded in a .kmz file. I know that this and other sites were previously using "Custom Maps" to describe third party vector based maps (.img files) for many years, but unfortunately those days are over since Garmin has officially defined "custom maps" to mean something completely different.

In fact, your title of this thread with "custom maps" confused me at first because of this. I suggest you stop using "custom maps" unless you are talking about raster imagery in a .kmz file, and there will be a lot less confusion.

But I see it has also confused you, because the information about "custom maps" and draw order that you posted has absolutely nothing to do with your situation. That kind of map isn't even vaguely related to an .img file and it cannot be used on any of the nuvi series.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: maps4gps on May 30, 2012, 10:49:33 AM
Be aware that what Garmin terms a custom map are the .kmz raster maps.
Custom map was used to refer to vector maps created by independent map authors years before Garmin's usage.  Since they do not 'recognize' we exist, they have created a lot of
confustion, but it is their ball-game.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 11:00:44 AM
I'm beginning to understand now. It was getting pretty confusing but I thought it must be something like that.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 30, 2012, 12:04:20 PM
To add to the confusion the cgpsmapper manual says:
Quote
DrawPriority=#
Value between 0 and 31 indicating the priority used by the GPS to draw the map. The highest value the highest priority is set.
Priority for the transparent maps is calculated by adding always 32 to the set priority by DrawPriority value.
􀀩 Default = 25.
So it looks like the drawpriority of a transparent map is at least 32, but if you set s drawpriority for the map of 31, the actual drawpriority for the map if it was transparent would be 63.  You might want to mess with that, bigbair and let us know if it helps.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 30, 2012, 12:48:21 PM
I tried 32 and 63 and they still didn't show up. It is getting a little frustrating now but I am determined.

I don't know if it would make any difference but I have been changing the draw priority via gmaptool once I have already loaded the maps to the Nuvi. Maybe it needs to be set when I load them to MapSource with mapsettoolkit?
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on May 30, 2012, 01:26:27 PM
I don't think you need to set the drawpriority above 31.  But I've given up on my problem.  I'll just use the maps on handhelds in future.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 31, 2012, 05:16:29 AM
I don't think you need to set the drawpriority above 31.  But I've given up on my problem.  I'll just use the maps on handhelds in future.

I am giving up on mine also. It is going back to Best Buy.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: bigbair on May 31, 2012, 06:34:00 AM
Hi,

what map is displayed on top depends on gps type, map type, transparency and draw priority. You can find some info on net, but I'm not allowed to post a link here :(

You can easily set transparency and draw priority. With some money you can change gps. And with some fiddling you can change map type too.

Map type is defined by some parameters in subfile TRE. You can modify them with gmaptool. First set "advanced options" and "experimental options" in "Options" tab. Then set "TRE parameters" in "Write" tab, the same way as you set draw priority.

There are 4 parameters, leave 4-th field empty. First 3 parameters define map type. While I'm not sure about exact meaning of this parameters, you can experiment with some values:
1, 3, 17 - this is City Navigator
1, 4, 23 - this is road map that is displayed on nuvi over City Navigator
1, 4, 10 - this is topo map, I haven't checked its properties
0, 4, 23 - this is marine map

You can always check current TRE parameters using "Details" command on "Files" tab.

Now this is VERY interesting and I wish that I hadn't already sent the unit back. Prior to submitting my last post I did a hard reset and handed it to someone to take back and it is gone now. I believe this is probably the exact info I was needing.

I just looked at the TRE file(s) on my Nuvi 200 out of curiosity. It displays the maps 100% as desired- My Maps on top, then Topo, then Street Navigator. The parameters are:

City Navigator 2012.10
priority 30, parameters 1  3  17  1
levels [17,18,19,21,23], zoom [84,83,2,1,0]

My Map
priority 25, parameters 1  3  17  3  transparent
levels [23,24], zoom[81,0]

mc73_wv Topo 24k
priority 25, parameters 1  4  13  3 transparent
levels [18,19,20,22,24], zoom [85,4,3,2,1]

Interesting that My Map has   1  3  17   the same as the City Navigator. This could have been an error that prevented it from displaying on the 2595 but does not effect older models? I guess I will never know now. But it seems to be useful information.

Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: popej on May 31, 2012, 08:51:50 AM
I think values 1, 3, 17 are used by most of free compilers. They are a good choice for a routable map and shouldn't be a problem for topo map.
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on June 01, 2012, 09:37:24 AM
Quote
Map type is defined by some parameters in subfile TRE. You can modify them with gmaptool. First set "advanced options" and "experimental options" in "Options" tab. Then set "TRE parameters" in "Write" tab, the same way as you set draw priority.

I can see a way to write parameters in gmaptool, but I can't find a way to inspect them.  They showed up in a log file of info once, but I'm not able to replicate this.  Is this possible in gmaptool?

Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: popej on June 01, 2012, 09:59:24 AM
Use "Details" instead of "Info". You will get informations about each tile:

Sub-file         fat     length
 48617461 RGN    600h   1882502
 48617461 TRE   1600h      6039
   map 2e5d7f5 (48617461)
   date 09.06.2005 23:50:39
   priority 25, parameters 1 3 17 1
   levels [16,18,20,22,24], zoom [84,3,2,1,0]
   N: 53.173828, S: 52.657471, W: 15.490723, E: 16.512451
   cgpsmapper version0098c
   GPSWielkopolska
 48617461 LBL   1800h     25175
   CP 1252, map created with cgpsmapper
 48617461 NET   1A00h    199898
 48617461 NOD   1C00h       328
Title: Re: Trouble seeing custom maps on Nuvi 2595
Post by: Seldom on June 01, 2012, 12:47:46 PM
Thanks, popej.
1 3 17 1 is exactly what I'm seeing. (So apparently, that's not the cause of my problem.)

If you are still having a problem posting links check -Oz-'s reply to this thread:
http://forums.gpsfiledepot.com/index.php/topic,2923.msg17245/boardseen.html#new