GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: RankNewbie on February 13, 2009, 01:46:06 PM

Title: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 13, 2009, 01:46:06 PM
I'm hoping to get some beginner info on using various maps on the Garmin nuvi 350

going to London; kewl - load up the Tube map on the Garmin.

so I did find one, it's an img file
(no SDadd card on board - are those just the run of the mill SD cards?  similar to digital camera?)

so how do I "use" this img file - would prefer not to wipe out the current map set
(North Amer Navigator - std off the shelf)

is it as simple as copying the img file into the same directory? 
I see the installer thing, d/ling from Ibycus - is use of same a required route for adding img files?

I've backed up the whole directory structure via USB cable; I presume one can delete all the languages one does not need?  and the sample jpg/mp3?  not interested in slide slows or watching movies on the thing!

.........sigh.  it's amazing how much isn't in the manual....
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 13, 2009, 08:53:01 PM
I would suggest downloading sendmap: http://cgpsmapper.com/download/sendmap20.zip and using that to load it up.  And yes the SD cards are any standard SD card.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 14, 2009, 09:55:44 AM
thanks Dan !

did the download, install & run. says it successfully uploaded the tube map - shows up in Settings|Map|MapInfo.

for lurkers, sendmap20 had trouble "finding" the Garmin directory; when I unplugged all other USB devices, it found  \Garmin, no problem

can't get it to display the map; perhaps that's because I'm not currently in UK <g>

<sigh> if you're 12, you know how to do all this stuff.  ASM I can handle; gps - ahhh, not yet.

looks like I'll need to add a SD card - does one need to approach the upload task differently when using a (blank) SD card - ie not preloaded with Garmin product?

appreciate the help - if there's a Garmin for Dummies out there, just point me please.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: dhisum_dhisum on February 14, 2009, 12:12:04 PM
Actually,

There is a setting that you have to enable before it will show the map. I cannot remember it off of my head, but somewhere, I believe in the maps, it shows a list of maps currently installed. You need to uncheck the CNNA box and then check the UK map box. When you want to see the CNNA again, you need to revert the settings. I had to scratch my head for quite a while to figure that part out.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: dhisum_dhisum on February 14, 2009, 12:16:25 PM
Now that I think of it, I believe it is in Settings|Maps|MapsInfo. You should see a little checkbox to the left of the maps. Unselect the City Navigator and then you should see the tubes map.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 15, 2009, 10:44:06 AM
And yes, you'll have to be in the part of the country that the map covers; you could probably zoom out and scroll over there then zoom back in to see it.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 16, 2009, 03:16:42 PM
scrolling out from east coast to UK should be a kick! <g>

I did try the check mark trick - but as you say, I'm not even on the map.

had my first "and it's sending which way?" excursion today - need to learn a few route programing tricks....

thanks for the help - I'll be back!
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 16, 2009, 08:44:57 PM
Good luck; it will always get you there... just maybe not the smartest way...
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 21, 2009, 09:43:48 AM
so,,, first road trip all done.

>>>just maybe not the smartest way...

very polite turn of phrase.  <g> 

I found it very helpful valuable in navigating the local area(s), but the algorithms for "Shortest" or "Fastest" routing on the city/state-to-city/state level lack ,,,uhmmmm,,,errrrr,,,,, are lacking.

set for fastest route, on the way home - meaning I knew exactly what route is "best" - it suddenly wanted me to get off the interstate and go Route <cow path studded with malls>  at that point my arrival time was hh:48.  as I continued to ignore it's suggestions, every recalculation resulted in a sooner arrival time.  eventually I got it down to hh:13 following my own common sense.

somewhat amusing to have a system set for fastest route, and after passing suggested Exit X, it says take (next) Exit Y and the arrival time improves by 6 minutes... like why not suggest Exit Y so start with....

so, what's the solution?  is there software to created your own route on the pc and download "and this is how I want to get there" to the gps unit?
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on February 22, 2009, 10:47:48 AM
is there software to created your own route on the pc and download "and this is how I want to get there" to the gps unit?

Yes, there is MapSource for the PC and RoadTrip for the Mac which will allow you to plan a route and transfer it to the GPS. However, if you're using a Nuvi 350, this won't work. You need a GPS which can handle multi-stop routing and the only Nuvi series which can do that are the ones whose models begin with the number 5, 7 and 8 (eg: 750, 885, etc). You will also need to install the City Navigator maps on your computer, and they are distributed separately from the GPS itself.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 24, 2009, 09:10:33 AM
thanks Boyd - saves me a bunch of trouble!

I never really had any "trouble" reading maps, and finding South Carolina - or even a city therein - leaving from home has not been a big issue either.

methinks I'll set it up on mute until I'm close enough to need turn by turn directions in a local area.
it is a lot more convenient to listen to the prompts than struggle with steering wheel and paper print outs!
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 24, 2009, 06:47:06 PM
I leave mine on mute pretty frequently whereas my wife has it on super loud talk all the time :)
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on February 25, 2009, 09:35:22 AM
Mine is permanently muted - I couldn't even tell you what the voice sounds like. Guess it's just my quirk, but I don't like machines that talk. A GPS should just shut up and show me where I am or where I'm going.  ;D
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 27, 2009, 08:50:32 AM
>>talking machines

I'll vote for  that!  my computers are always muted except if I actually want to listen to something.

I think I've found a freebie London city map - thru links here.

question 1:  if I checkmark two maps that cover the same area,,, what happens?

question 2:  any freebie / shareware software out there that would allow me to look at .img map files?  I'd feel more comfortable having seen what I've downloaded prior to relying on actual use...
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on February 27, 2009, 04:30:03 PM
any freebie / shareware software out there that would allow me to look at .img map files?

GPSMapEdit will open .img files.

http://www.geopainting.com/en/
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 27, 2009, 10:33:52 PM
question 1:  if I checkmark two maps that cover the same area,,, what happens?
ALl of the GPS units allow you to turn on and off maps.  How to do it varies between units.  Its normally under Map Info.

Where is the london city map? I'll add it to the site here so people can find it easier.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 28, 2009, 08:58:40 AM
<sigh>  it's a brave new world.

I got the freebie update to 2009 maps; apparently when it installed it wiped out any and all maps on the Nuvi.

geopainting looks interesting; then I saw on some msg bd that MapSource cost $30, so went to look at that (garmin.com) - the download doesn't work unless you have a MapSource product, but there is no definition of "MapSource products" -

tried Map Manipulator which is supposed to translate .img back to .mp - got a bunch of black dots on a gray background.  fascinating.

I'm stunned that there is no readily available freebie utility that will show you what the heck is in that there nnnnn.img file.

Don - the London city map link is a "contact the author by email' - which I have done but without reply to-date.  I'll ask if he'd like to link/post it here.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on February 28, 2009, 10:31:30 AM
<sigh>I'm stunned that there is no readily available freebie utility that will show you what the heck is in that there nnnnn.img file.

GPSMapEdit (as per my link above) is the program which can do this and you can use the freeware version. I'm stunned that you didn't even try this before reaching such a conclusion. ;)

To use MapSource, first download the free training center software here:

http://www8.garmin.com/support/collection.jsp?product=999-99999-04

That will install a crude basemap on your computer. Now try to install Mapsource again. It will see the training center basemap as a "product" and you will be all set. Inside mapsource there is a dropdown menu to choose maps. See if it lists City Navigator as an option. If not, then go back to garmin.com and see if you are able to download the 2009 map update again. That will install the City Navigator maps into Mapsource.

I think the "gotcha" is that Mapsource has to first be installed on your computer. If it is, then when you download a map update it is installed to work on both the GPS and your computer.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 28, 2009, 10:45:36 AM
Boyd -

well, I'm first inline when it comes to 'dense' - but that site says it's shareware, download and then email for a key.

<training center, etc.>  standby - will do
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 28, 2009, 11:08:28 AM
Boyd -

you're right; installed training center, MapSource installed without complaint.

post install did cold boot.

file open, no option for img file, file all, click on img, not supported
HELP file search on img - no topics.
find device, device found by name and serial number
transfer maps from device:  no maps found. 

curious software, that.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 28, 2009, 11:33:22 AM
This tutorial details how to get mapsource: http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-install-mapsource-if-it-didnt-come-with-your-gps/
This tutorial show you how to load the map.  You don't actually open the file.  Most of these maps have an installer that puts it directly into mapsource so follow these directions: http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on February 28, 2009, 12:09:56 PM
Dan -

I seem able -

I say "seem" because I'm not in London I can't see the img file map on the gps...

- to load the map via SendMap.

the problem is I want to see _WHAT_ is on the map.  I got MapSource up and loaded and running.  it confirms my prior ufo sighting:  the London tube map is a collection of dots and names.  apparently one is expected to know one must calibrate and overlay those dots on "some other map"

obviously, just like the routing functionality, "maps" need to be approached with a seriously signficant degree of non-belief.  which as I stated, reinforces the concept the user need to _see_ what is in the img file before bothering with all these thousand hour upload / downloads.
also download GPSMapEdit and it appears to have unregistered copy capabilities which simply reconfirmed all the prior ufo dots and text observed.

so I said, okay, the tube map is useless - I have not the skills to overlay, calibrate, trweak and squeak this nonsense.

I'll just "unload" it - yeah, cute idea. 

SendMap produces nothing on "sync GPS" - not found a way to unload stuff so I just deleted the whole dang directory and am copying from a backup to overwrite the unit \garmin\ directory.

one hour six minutes to usb transfer 1.42 gb.  I think Garmin needs to seriously rethink their 1200 bps COMM speed approach.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: -Oz- on February 28, 2009, 09:00:09 PM
what gps is this that still has comm? most are usb now.

And all of my maps have screenshots for this exactly reason.  I'd assume the map is just tube stations; which really would just be points of interests (thus dots and names)
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 01, 2009, 08:49:13 AM
oh, the nuvi connects by usb; but not the speed.  there's something that throttles data transfer and its apparently in the unit itself.

if I get an sdram card, I suppose I could use the desktop card reader to load the data.

I found many interesting maps here direct in img form - including UK:
http://emexes.powweb.com/osm/
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on March 02, 2009, 06:41:06 AM
For some reason, only the very newest Garmin units have USB 2 interfaces. USB 1 is dog slow. But I agree there's something else going on there. My Oregon and my Nuvi 205 seem very inconsistent in terms of transfer speed, and copying FROM the unit is much faster than sending TO it. OTOH, my Nuvi 5000 is lightning fast in both directions. Strange...
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 04, 2009, 10:45:44 AM
first, I must say - thanks to all - I appreciate the input.
great site / resource.

I'm off to merry ole'England and we'll see how the OpenStreet map performs.

obviously, DIY GPS'ing is a bit more complicated than "simple"
- for me, such one-off needs do not justify the easy route of "just purchase a Garmin product"

in my case the DIY route has an issue -
by the time I have mastered the techniques needed and my next one-off need, one of two things will have occurred:
I will have forgotten how to do "it"
or
technology has 'changed'

at any rate, it is certainly an adventure!

I will report my findings on return.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 14, 2009, 08:15:32 AM
<I'm baaaaaaaaack!>

my finding have been found, and the news is dismal.

using the nuvi 350 in London/UK:

severe problems acquiring satellites; could be the urban environment....
could be poor antenna; could be . . . .

sitting on the bench in an open space park, acquired satellites.
while sitting on the bench my "location" started slowly wandering around. 
at one point the nuvi had me roughly wandering aimless half a mile north of the bench my butt was parked on.

fascinating . . .

the UK OpenStreet map - as I downloaded, uploaded, employed it
- open to significant user ignorance and error -
is not routeable/searchable/<whatever the right term is>. 
using menu functions "Where to" produced "Enter state name"  oops.  UK doesn't have those - nor could I get it to "recognize" anything like county names.

note that I should very much liked to have tested such functions before I left, but there's no way to do that on the 350 . . .

the displayed scale kept jumping from large to small / small to large.  as a walking tool, utterly useless given the inability to keep an appropriate scale on the screen.  this only adds to the utterly useless inability to locate an address.

eventually just turned it off and used the paper maps.  way more easier.
note that as it is primarily intended for automobile use, my criticism as a "walking tour tool" may be unjustified.

so, I've reloaded it with the USA updated maps, and it's certainly a device I will be leaving at home, when headed outside USA.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on March 14, 2009, 03:43:11 PM
note that I should very much liked to have tested such functions before I left, but there's no way to do that on the 350 . . .

Actually there is a way. Go to Menu > Tools > Settings > System and turn on the GPS Simulator. Now zoom WAY out until you can find London. Zoom back in to a location you want to test. There should be a button at the bottom of the screen "Set Loc". Tap that and the Nuvi will believe you really *are* there. That will show you what to expect from searches and routing. You can even simulate walking/driving a route.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 15, 2009, 06:50:04 AM
Boyd - system settings include
WAAS/EGNOS
Safe Mode
Garmin Lock
Touch Tones

the 350 apparently lacks the gps simulate mode...?
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: Boyd on March 15, 2009, 10:42:07 AM
Sorry, forgot about that old model. Even easier, just snap the antenna closed. That will turn off the GPS receiver. Tap the screen and the Set Loc button should appear at the bottom.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 16, 2009, 05:13:06 AM
aha!  that works!
thanks for the tip!

out of curiosity, how does one turn an OpenStreet map into something "searchable / routable"? or is that possible?
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: dhisum_dhisum on March 16, 2009, 08:24:33 AM
Quote
how does one turn an OpenStreet map into something "searchable / routable"? or is that possible?

The million dollar question. That my friend is not possible. You can create maps that are searchable/routable but once the map has been created, with the current understanding and tools, it is not possible to  make an already available map searchable routable. Additionally, the reason we don't have searchable/routable maps is that cgpsmapper (the tool used to create searchable/routable version of maps) costs an arm and a leg for the routable version. It is about $2800... vs the free version used to create the majority of maps here.
Title: Re: using img files
Post by: RankNewbie on March 18, 2009, 12:04:07 PM
<<$10^6 q&a>>

I knew there was a reason I didn't want to know <g>