GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => Map Making Support => Topic started by: John_M on June 30, 2008, 02:56:45 PM

Title: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: John_M on June 30, 2008, 02:56:45 PM
 CGPSMAPPER has been running for 22 hours working on a  276MB  mp file. This is a less then 1 year old computer with 2 cpu's and the computer has been at 50% Usage all day. So How long to let  CGPSMAPPER run? 
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: -Oz- on July 09, 2008, 03:45:04 PM
22 hours does seem a little bit long.  50% cpu is right though because cgpsmapper is not a dual-core friendly program.
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: -Oz- on July 09, 2008, 03:46:42 PM
Also, I learned its not necessarily the size of the map but the number of elements.  For example for my 0 level I have upwards of 200,000 lines and that takes a long time.  If I had that in the 1 level it would take a lot longer to process the map than if only 10k of the lines were in the 1 level.
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: savage on August 14, 2008, 02:33:40 AM
What is important is not the CPU power but the amount of memory available. Try to reboot your machine and do not start programs you do not need like email, web browser, skype, IM, etc. Just stop everything you can. This will free up virtual memory and those programs using very large dataset will run a lot better with much less thrashing.
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: -Oz- on August 14, 2008, 09:48:03 AM
What is important is not the CPU power but the amount of memory available. Try to reboot your machine and do not start programs you do not need like email, web browser, skype, IM, etc. Just stop everything you can. This will free up virtual memory and those programs using very large dataset will run a lot better with much less thrashing.

Oh yea... I actually am upgrading my laptop from 1gb to 2gb of ram because as I keep traveling (been doing it for the last 6 mo) I don't have any desktop.
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: savage on August 27, 2008, 03:48:23 PM
I am running into some difficulties. Some of my .MP files for Maine are not good:

Importing and preprocessing data
Current import datum is: W84 :WGS 84 Global Definition II
Reading [DICTIONARY]
Codepage set to: 1252
String coding: 6 bits
POI info sorting
Layer >>>>>>0<<<<<< generation
Error E032: Layer 0 of the map cannot be empty.

cgpsmapper waits until you press OK to go to the next file.
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: -Oz- on August 27, 2008, 05:41:31 PM
what element exists in the .mp file?  Because whatever you have for some reason isn't in level zero (which it shouldn't be).
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: savage on August 27, 2008, 06:44:38 PM
This might be a quadrant falling outside the state with nothing in it?
Title: Re: How long to let CGPSMAPPER run?
Post by: -Oz- on August 28, 2008, 02:59:30 PM
This might be a quadrant falling outside the state with nothing in it?
You're right; I opened the file at it has nothing in it.  That'll definitely fail because of that.  I wonder why it exported an empty file though.  Any file that is 6kb (and not all ocean) can normally be deleted.