GPSFileDepot Forums

General Category => GPSr Units => Topic started by: Indrid Cold on August 21, 2010, 09:10:48 PM

Title: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Indrid Cold on August 21, 2010, 09:10:48 PM
Quote from: stoltch
I'm sure there is tons of notes on installing Mapsource to my Garmin NUVI 750? I'm looking for installing, moving back and forth from my regular street maps to the topo's and general tips and help. Is this in a forum? I searched a little bit and must have looked in the wrong places. I am not a rookie to GPS technolgy and computers but don't want to screw up my NUVI 750. I have used Mapsource for years. Thanks for any help in advance. Chad

***Mod note: Sorry Chad, meant to move your message, not remove it :-[
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Indrid Cold on August 21, 2010, 09:17:42 PM
http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 21, 2010, 09:45:08 PM
Thanks, I will start reading. Thanks for the quick response! Gives me something to do tomorrow.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Indrid Cold on August 21, 2010, 09:53:50 PM
You will probably get some tips from nüvi owners so make sure to check back.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 21, 2010, 10:32:09 PM
WOW that was easy! Do you no if it's ok to run multiple maps? Maybe AZ topo, US streets (forgot name, came pre-installed in Nuvi). Is there a limit? I would guess to much data? Any experiences good or bad running multiple maps at the same time?
Thanks, Chad
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Indrid Cold on August 21, 2010, 11:06:13 PM
Well, you can pretty much only see one standard map at a time (sidestepping transparent maps for the time being), I look at it like having paper maps laid out on your desk; one will cover another. So to view a topo, you want to disable the city map...

Do you have a memory card in the unit or are you working with just the available free memory???
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 21, 2010, 11:56:24 PM
I have a 4 GB memory card. It seems that its a independent drive. I read it fine on the computer but it doesn't seem to extend the system storage  capacity for more maps? I have been trying to figure it out for about an hour or so. Re-format sd-card? Thanks for the input. So run 1 type of map type at a time but overlays are OK? Chad
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 22, 2010, 05:31:47 AM
I found out what I was doing wrong in Mapsorce loading maps to device SD card. I choose drive letter (F:Removable Drive) that the was in the pull down tab. I'm loading a South West map which is rather large (1G+) and it will take some time. Hopfully all goes well. It's interesting. I un-checked all maps in the maps viewable screen in the Nuvi 750 and it still had road maps in it. There must be some internal ROM inside the unit loaded at Garmin? This is really cool. For years I have had to bring a labtop on excursions around our beautiful state. The portable Rhino has a small screen (no color) which is like watching a movie on a 2" screen. Years ago I used to go with Microsoft Streeta & Maps, Mapsource, and Mapsource with the Rhino all at once. The labtop is still great for larger viewing areas for yourself and 2 people. I'm sure there are several tricks to the trade as I go but this is again is really cool. GPS Depot kicks butt!
 :)
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Boyd on August 22, 2010, 06:22:05 AM
If you disable all the maps in the Nuvi's map settings, you will be looking at the basemap. The basemap is stored in the file \Garmin\gmapbmap.img on the internal drive. You have an older model with a more simplistic basemap, but starting with the next models after the 700 series, the basemaps contain routable roads and DEM (Digital Elevation Model) data that produces shaded terrain. The terrain data is very low resolution however, so it only display when you zoom way out to the 20+ mile scale IIRC. Nevertheless, I don't think your 750 has this feature.

You can install one additional map in internal memory, and a second one on your data card. The files  will each be named gmapsupp.img. Starting with the 1200/1300/1400/1600 series, Garmin did away with map filename restrictions, so you can add as many map files as you want on these Nuvi's and call them anything you like.

On your unit, you can still install multiple maps. Get all your maps into Mapsource, then choose the areas you want from the first map using the selection tool. Now use the dropdown menu in the upper lefthand corner to choose another mapset and select the parts of it that you want. Repeat this as needed for all the maps you want to load. In the Maps pane on the left, you will see all the different segments of the maps you have selected this way.

Connect your nuvi and choose Transfer > Send to Device. Make sure that Maps are checked. This will transfer all the different maps into a single file on the Nuvi named gmapsupp.img. On the Nuvi, you will be able to turn on and off the different maps using Menu > Tools > Settings > Map > Map Info.

Beyond this, there is another limitation to the amount of map data you can install. The nuvi can only access 4,000 individual map tiles. So it's possible that you will exceed this limit before you exceed the capacity of your storage card. Map tile size is determined by the mapmaker, so there is no "rule of thumb" as to how large an area can be covered by a given number of tiles.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 22, 2010, 08:00:21 AM
Thank you. Good information. I will work on it today.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 22, 2010, 09:44:06 AM
You can install one additional map in internal memory, and a second one on your data card. The files  will each be named gmapsupp.img. Starting with the 1200/1300/1400/1600 series, Garmin did away with map filename restrictions, so you can add as many map files as you want on these Nuvi's and call them anything you like.

I must be running on half brain this morning. Does this mean
gmapsupp.img for all of these 1200/1300/1400/1600 series?

Open the files and save under gmapssupp.img as one>

Do I get the files at Garmin? Sorry, a little confused.

Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Boyd on August 22, 2010, 10:10:29 AM
Since you don't have a more modern nuvi (1200/1300/1400/1600 series), none of this applies to you. Garmin changed the way maps are named and where they are stored on the new models. The only "upgrade" for you would be purchasing a new unit.  :)

But don't feel bad, because topo maps look terrible on these new model, in spite of the extended file names. They will look much better on your Nuvi 750.

You need to use Mapsource (or Basecamp) to install maps on your unit in most cases. They always create a single file name gmapsupp.img. One source of confusion is that .img files are actually "containers" which can have a variety of things inside of them, including multiple mapsets.

Most of the maps on this site come with their own installers. You can purchase maps from Garmin, but they don't offer any free map downloads.

Read what I posted again, and follow it exactly. This is how you can merge multiple maps into a single gmapsupp.img file using Mapsource.

Quote
On your unit, you can still install multiple maps. Get all your maps into Mapsource, then choose the areas you want from the first map using the selection tool. Now use the dropdown menu in the upper lefthand corner to choose another mapset and select the parts of it that you want. Repeat this as needed for all the maps you want to load. In the Maps pane on the left, you will see all the different segments of the maps you have selected this way.

Connect your nuvi and choose Transfer > Send to Device. Make sure that Maps are checked. This will transfer all the different maps into a single file on the Nuvi named gmapsupp.img. On the Nuvi, you will be able to turn on and off the different maps using Menu > Tools > Settings > Map > Map Info.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 22, 2010, 12:20:02 PM
Got it. I'm very happy with the 750 for now. It sounds like the better or newer models have a little way to go still. But that never changes. I get detailed enough topo images for my needs. Bigger screens are always nice but this is still a vehicle unit which in my opinion must have a balance of size, portability, and mounting. Again, great site and I'll try to return the favor someday.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Boyd on August 22, 2010, 12:47:30 PM
Glad that it all worked out for you. In many ways, the 750 and its cousins was one of the best Nuvi's without some of the glitches that have plagued the newer series. But the new 3700 series has finally taken a big step forward with a spectacular capacitive glass touchscreen and much faster processor than any of the other Nuvi's along with true 3d views that can be rotated and dragged around in realtime. Not cheap though...  ;D

Enjoy!
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: -Oz- on August 22, 2010, 11:25:07 PM
FYI: If you are using the Arizona Topo you should download the new version that came out today!

And glad everything is working for you.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 23, 2010, 05:53:33 PM
Thanks for the new map info. I have to ask a question. When I last left this forum I went and loaded some other state maps and anything in Arizona I missed. Iwas driving into work this morning and was hoping to see some elevation and new things I hadn't seen before. I took the view out of 3-D(normally drive like this) and set to track up. The other is track North. I seem to have donee soething that stoped the topo from working. I tried AZ topo only with basmap and nothing. Went back to turn on all around 5 maps and nothing. i think i tried every AZ map and nothing. Did I do something obvious of do I have to reload maybe just AZ topo. Thats all I really need but was playing around with like HI, MN, Southwest. Any ideas? Can I delete the maps from the unit easy and try again. Chad :'(
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 23, 2010, 06:28:36 PM
Like usual it's user error but I still don't know whats wrong. If you put the detail on the highest setting and move out of the city like Globe area the topo will come on but at lower detail it flashes for a moment and goes to a blank color. There must be to much data in the city? I guess I need to play with the detail and the unit more. The good thing the topo maps are in there.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Boyd on August 24, 2010, 05:03:00 AM
Not completely sure what is happening, but it could be a couple of thing. If you were driving at highway speed, it might be that there's just too much data for your older model to update the screen fast enough, so it just gives up. I have seen that happen sometimes.

If you tap the screen to enter browse mode, do you see the map? You may need to zoom in as far as the 800 foot level to see details.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: alpine on August 24, 2010, 06:15:02 AM
I have several maps installed on my 750. Most of them are topo and land ownership. I use the 750, on the ATV,  for when the Nuvi 500 is down. It works flawlessly, just as the 500 does with topo maps.

Once you get off road, I would disable the CN map, and just use the topo maps, and keep the zoom down to 800 feet.

It should work well at that zoom level. When you get back to the dirt roads or blacktop, just re-enable the CN map, and your good to go.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 24, 2010, 06:44:30 PM
Nice on the 750 tips. I tried it today and panned around the state last night. I guess I got a little spooked being in the city and not seeing any elevation. Its pretty flat on the drive in, so its not shocking. Has anyone tried this unit by foot? The battery specs are ~5 hours. I'll have to look around again for charging. I'm trying to remember if you can charge right out of a usb 12V car charger if you don't have the vehicle mount on you trip. Here is another curve ball for anyone interested. When I hooked up the gps for the first time I believe Garmin offerd a free annual upgrade on new US map changes. Online the southwest and the southeast was backwards on Garmins website. I clicked on the one I though was correct for the southwest but it gave me the southeast. I think annual updates are fine for me and was wondering if you called Garmin tech support they can revearse it? Anyone had similiar problem?
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: maps4gps on August 25, 2010, 04:39:22 AM
If it is like the handheld units, it will NOT charge from the USB cable.  Reason being they do not check for the battery type so if non-rechargeables were in the unit the batteries would be damaged and possibly the unit itself.
Quote
... and was wondering if you called Garmin tech support they can revearse it?
 
You can best answer this yourself by calling them.  From what others have posted Garmin is very considerate about such situations.  I would think they would like to know if the website selections are reversed so they can be corrected..
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: alpine on August 25, 2010, 05:04:07 AM
The 750 has internal rechargeable batteries. Supposedly non-serviceable by civilians. However many have replaced the battery from batteries bought on Ebay, and with help from U-Tube videos. However it does run from a powered cradle.

Whether it will recharge from a USB connection depends on the USB connection. There are pins in the USB connector that have to have power for the unit to recharge. There a cables that serve only to allow communication between computer and GPS, and cables that allow recharging.

So that is a definite maybe.
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: Boyd on August 25, 2010, 05:49:44 AM
From Garmin support:

Question:  How do I charge my GPS unit?

Answer:
There are three ways to charge the internal battery in your automotive GPS unit.1  

1. Use the provided vehicle power cable that came with your GPS unit.  The unit will charge while powered on and using the device as well as when the GPS unit is powered off and plugged into a running vehicle.

2. Use an AC power adaptor.  Some units come with this power cable to plug the GPS unit into a wall outlet allowing the GPS unit to take a charge.  For units that do not come with this cable, one can be purchased from Garmin's online store.

3. For most units, the final way of charging the battery is to plug the GPS into a powered on computer with a USB cable2.  This method of charging will be a trickle charge and it may take longer than the other two options, however it will still charge the battery.  A USB cable is provided with a few GPS models. For those that don't come with this cable, one can either be ordered from the online store or you can use a standard USB to mini-USB cable that fits the unit and plugs into your computer.
___________________

1 - Please note that temperature can play an effect on the charging of a device. If the battery registers a temperature of 0°C and below or 45°C and above (32°F and 113°F respectively) then it will not charge. When connected to external power it will only be operating off of external power.

2 - The Quest® and Quest® 2 will not charge using a USB cable.

Last modified on:  12/30/2009
Title: Re: Nuvi 750 Install Help
Post by: stoltch on August 29, 2010, 12:15:26 AM
Thanks for the USB research. It's good to know you have it as a option (slow one). I'll see how Garmin support  goes and report. It sounds like it's not going to be an issue. Either way it's no big deal. I'm plenty happy with the data I have and have yet to have a problem finding what I need around where I live.