News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Garmin eTrex Venture HC - Maps don't display

Started by chuckhubbert, August 13, 2009, 05:21:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chuckhubbert

Hi, my name is Chuck, and I'm a noob...

Bottom line - I don't see any maps besides basemap on my GPSr.

I've downloaded Michigan Topo and have them displaying in Mapsource.  I've selected segments (or a single segment) and uploaded them to the GPSr with what appears to be no problems several times.

On the GPSr, I have selected the segment(s) from the Map - Setup Information menu.  I have toggled all sorts of show/hide settings in the contextual menu for Map display.

And the GPSr display never show anything but basemap.  I can show/hide the basemap and that make the difference that I would expect, but I cannot make any difference with the topo maps.

What am I missing?

Thanks!

Indrid Cold

You might not be zoomed in enough for the TOPO map to display.

alpine

I hate to ask the obvious here. But have you uploaded a segment where the GPS is at so that it has a TOPO segment to display?

Also I try to upload as big as a file that the GPSr will hold, just so I can have edge coverage.

willard127

I'm having the same problem, I've downloaded the area I live in... Willard MO. and I shows in Mapsource, transfers fine, shows in my Maps area on my HCx, but all I see is the Basemap... I've zoomed in and out, but it's not displaying.  I'm sill searching these threads to see if someone else has a fix. I hve a 4gig Card installed, I'm curious if the HCx is looking at the wrong "Directory"?  Chow 4 Now...

maps4gps

On the HCX, what brand/model of micro card are you using?  Many months ago there were posts on the geocaching.com forums that some micro cards were incompatable with Garmin GPSrs - it may have been the 4Gb SD high speed.