GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Best Handheld GPS Unit for Trail Construction Project?

Started by Steve_in_Jersey, September 13, 2009, 08:27:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve_in_Jersey

I am engaged in a project to electronically map a statewide trail system in New Jersey (GPS tracks, waypoints) and could really use some practical advice on choice of GPS unit. The GPS track and waypoint coordinates so created will in essence become the 'reference standard' for this trail. This project is the one and only reason I'll be purchasing and using this device. I am not looking for turn-by-turn routing for automobile use (will rely upon my Gamin Nuvi 660 for that). While I've used automobile-based units, and am pretty tech-savvy, I have no experience with handheld units or trailmarking in general.

Device being recommended above all others is Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx. However, I'm wondering if I should be looking at Oregon 500 and DeLorme PN-40 as well, or even considering two units (one for Phase One and a different one for Phase Two).

BACKGROUND
Will be doing this as a series of sectional hikes (generally 10 miles in length). (2) The trail will cover city streets, suburban paths (county parks), rural and forested trails. Basically about as varied as one could possibly get.

There are two phases to this activity, both very important, though first is slightly more so:
PHASE ONE (1) Need to create GPS tracks that could be uploaded to 'CONSUMER-ORIENTED' hiking websites (e.g. Google Maps or Google Earth) (2) Need to establish waypoints to identify locations for trail markers. (3) Need to be able to geotag pictures showing recommended locations for markers.

PHASE TWO (4) Would like to be able to do the opposite of above - i.e.
- download tracks and/or routes that I could display on the GPS in the field.