GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

map manager

Started by medic198, September 01, 2012, 03:18:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

medic198

I have installed map manager and installer twice now. When I download a map it shows up as the right file and goes to map manager and says it is unlocked and available. Base camp does not recognize it and there is no way I can see to get that file moved into base camp. Map install also recognizes my unit (450t) but it shows "no unlocked maps to install"
I am pretty new at this and am using the latest up to date mac version.

Boyd

In the MapManager window, what does it show as the Installed Location for the map? If your user account on the Mac is "Joe" and the map is named "Topo" the location would be

/Users/Joe/Library/Application Support/Garmin/Maps/Topo.gmap

If this is the case, there is nothing further that you can do. If the map is not showing up in Basecamp, there must be a problem with it. You don't "open" maps in Basecamp, they must be installed with MapManager. In Basecamp, look at the Maps menu. Are you sure it is not listed there? It might not have the same name you were expecting.  From the Maps menu in Basecamp, choose "Installed maps info....". This should present you with the same kind of window you saw in MapManager and will list all the maps that are installed.

In this window (or using MapManager), select the map and click the "Reveal in Finder" button. That will open up a finder window listing all the installed maps. Click on the map file ("Topo.gmap" in my example above) and choose Get Info from the Finder File Menu. How large is the map? Perhaps that will give some clue as to whether the file is corrupt (if it's too small, for example).

Indrid Cold

Quote from: medic198 on September 01, 2012, 03:18:08 PM
I have installed map manager and installer twice now...
Here's the thing, without knowing what version you are calling the latest it's hard to give you detailed instructions.