GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Why 100K in Tutorials?

Started by phuber, December 20, 2011, 02:35:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phuber

Some background: I'm a cyclist and I've been a computer systems admin for 25+ years. About six years ago I hacked together a map of the Angeles National Forest and loaded it on my Etrex which I then took MTB'ing into the wild. The methodology for creating the map was striking similar to that in the Tutorials section of this site. There were two main differences:

1) My main motivation was that I wanted 24K rather than 100K topo maps. In the tutorials now it seems like the user is told to use 100K. Period. Is there now some limitation on the .gov stuff which didn't exist in the past?

2) At the end of the process I just popped out the memory card and mounted as a disk on a linux box and copied the IMG file I had created into the top level of the card's file structure, naming it "gmapsupp.img". Plugged it in and voila! Does anybody know if that'd fly on a nuvi? -pat

Seldom

Quote from: phuber on December 20, 2011, 02:35:58 PM

1) My main motivation was that I wanted 24K rather than 100K topo maps. In the tutorials now it seems like the user is told to use 100K. Period. Is there now some limitation on the .gov stuff which didn't exist in the past?

No limitations I am aware of on USGS data regarding elevation grid size except download time you are willing to tolerate.  I usually generate contours using 10 meter grid data.  If you were reading the Hydrography section, 100k refers to something else.

2) At the end of the process I just popped out the memory card and mounted as a disk on a linux box and copied the IMG file I had created into the top level of the card's file structure, naming it "gmapsupp.img". Plugged it in and voila! Does anybody know if that'd fly on a nuvi? -pat