GPSFileDepot.com

Help please. Using Vista Home Edition for Mapsource

Started by Judge Roy Bean, December 09, 2011, 05:09:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Judge Roy Bean

First, I am a total newb with GPS.  I purchased an Etrek 20.  Tried to download the Garmin Mapsource so I could then download custom topo maps of my area.  My system will not let me download mapsource onto my hardrive (Using Vista Home edition).  Instructions that came with Etrek 20 are severely lacking.

Any step by step instructions on downloading mapsource or basecamp would be sincerely appreciated.  I want to download Florida TOPO and wildlife preserves as I do much of my hiking in this state.  All my map shows is a black background.

Need to figure out tracking and waypoint marking for my own custom maps as well.  I know this supposed to be easy stuff by I am just starting out.  Any help would be appreciated.,

Indrid Cold

-Oz-

Dan Blomberg
Administrator - GPSFileDepot
GPS Units: Garmin Dakota 20, Garmin GPSMap 60csx, Nuvi 255W, Nuvi 250W, ForeRunner 110, Fenix 2, Tactix Bravo, Foretrex 401
See/Download My Maps!

Judge Roy Bean

OK.  I have downloaded Basecamp on my Hardrive but I not sure how to use the base camp software and what my next steps are.  I know I must seem stupid to most of you but this is all new tehnology and lingo to me.  I wish they had printed out step by step intsructions for us old farts to go by.  I bought this unit to help me navigate in thick Florida cover to locate areas to set up tree stands and Hopefully not get lost in the thick swamps.  I just want to start a route and locate a good spot, mark a way point and be able to find my way back out and return to the same spot to hang a stand at a future time (there is nothing in the world that sucks more than getting lost in a Florida swamp!!).  I am sure there is a lot that can be learned and down loaded with this unit.  Still trying to figure how I can use it with Google earth???