GPSFileDepot.com

Missing Death Valley topo data from Cal Topo

Started by bobellisds, May 06, 2011, 07:08:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bobellisds

Hi - I've been using the great topos from here for a couple years.  Mostly I'm a California desert hiker and been pleased with the maps.  However I've never found the topo data for the area east of the Panamint Mountains for most all of the Death Valley Furnace Creek area.  I noticed it was missing in my GPS a while back.  Last week I lost my GPS and now have a new one.  I downloaded the Cal Topo again today hoping the missing data would be there but in Map Source it is still missing.   I see the site for the original source of the data is now inactive so I can't check the original version.

Hope you guys have the answer  - Thanks

maps4gps

Do you mean just the contour lines are missing, or is all the data missing?
I recall it was mentioned that the contour lines below sea level ware not included.

My CA contours40ft overlay might help you if a CI of 40ft is useful to you in that area.

The SW US topo has a CI of 20ft; however it was contoured from source data with only 1/9 of the number of points we usually use.  I do not recall if it went below sea level or not.

Indrid Cold

See the above post for suggestions, the California topo does not have any contour data @ or below 0 feet, you're not going to see the Salton Sea area also.

bobellisds